Head to head · Madison area

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care vs Wisconsin Fertility Institute

Two fertility clinics in the Madison area, about 1 mile apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 15 h ago
3age bands compared
2treatments with a posted price

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care (Middleton, WI) and Wisconsin Fertility Institute (Middleton, WI) are fertility clinics in the Madison area, about 1 mile apart. For patients under 35, University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported a live-birth rate of 47.1% per intended egg retrieval and Wisconsin Fertility Institute reported 45.3% (CDC data for 2022). University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care posts no IVF price on its website. Wisconsin Fertility Institute posts an IVF price of $10,775 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
47.1%Higher
35–37
40.0%Higher
38–40
18.9%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
Cycles reported

For patients under 35, University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported a live-birth rate of 47.1% per intended egg retrieval and Wisconsin Fertility Institute reported 45.3% (CDC data for 2022). University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 27, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

  • IVF, as its website posts it

    Wisconsin Fertility Institute’s August 2023 local fee estimate lists $10,775 for one IVF cycle using ICSI to freeze embryos. It includes five monitoring ultrasounds, clinic visits, venipuncture, luteinizing-hormone, progesterone and estradiol blood tests; egg retrieval, anesthesia, retrieval needle and ultrasound; sperm preparation, oocyte identification, ICSI, embryo culture, embryology services, a supply fee, cryopreservation of up to four embryos, and one year of storage. Prescription medications are excluded and were estimated by the clinic at $5,000–$7,000. The estimate is based on freezing four embryos; additional embryos increase the cost. PGT/PGD, additional embryo freezing, storage after the included year, and other additional services are excluded. A frozen embryo transfer was listed separately at $3,545. The document states that it is an estimate, charges may vary, and payment is due at the baseline ultrasound visit. This is a dated August 2023 fee schedule; the clinic’s current website says its financial team provides individualized estimates rather than displaying a current IVF number.

Read Sep 29, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).

Open its page

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).

Open its page

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

  • $400a year per batch

    Egg storage

    Billed for each batch of eggs frozen

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care
Wisconsin Fertility Institute
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care is in Middleton, WI and Wisconsin Fertility Institute is in Middleton, WI, about 1 mile apart. Both are in the Madison metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care

2365 Deming Way, Middleton, WI 53562

Phone
(608) 824-6160
Medical director
Bala Bhagavath, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Wisconsin Fertility Institute

3146 Deming Way, Middleton, WI 53562

Phone
(608) 824-0075
Medical director
Elizabeth Pritts, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Wisconsin: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Wisconsin law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Wisconsin's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Questions

Common questions about University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care and Wisconsin Fertility Institute

Which has the higher IVF success rate, University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care or Wisconsin Fertility Institute?

For patients under 35, University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported a live-birth rate of 47.1% per intended egg retrieval and Wisconsin Fertility Institute reported 45.3% (CDC data for 2022). University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care compared with Wisconsin Fertility Institute?

Wisconsin Fertility Institute's website posts $10,775 for IVF (read Sep 29, 2026). University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 27, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care and Wisconsin Fertility Institute offer IVF refund programs?

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website, and Wisconsin Fertility Institute offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

Which is the larger clinic, University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care or Wisconsin Fertility Institute?

Wisconsin Fertility Institute is the larger clinic: it reported 224 cycles to the CDC and University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care reported 180. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care and Wisconsin Fertility Institute?

University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care is in Middleton, WI and Wisconsin Fertility Institute is in Middleton, WI, about 1 mile apart. Both are in the Madison metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at University of Wisconsin-Generations Fertility Care and Wisconsin Fertility Institute?

No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Wisconsin law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.