California IVF Fertility Center vs Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
Two fertility clinics in the Sacramento area, about 5 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
California IVF Fertility Center (Sacramento, CA) and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento (Sacramento, CA) are fertility clinics in the Sacramento area, about 5 miles apart. For patients under 35, California IVF Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 45.9% per intended egg retrieval and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento reported 47.8% (CDC data for 2022). California IVF Fertility Center posts an IVF price of $18,000 on its website. Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento posts an IVF price of $17,420 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, California IVF Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 45.9% per intended egg retrieval and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento reported 47.8% (CDC data for 2022). California IVF Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40 and over 40, and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento for patients under 35 and 35 to 37.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
California IVF Fertility Center
IVF, as its website posts it
California IVF Fertility Center in Sacramento publishes a $18,000 single-cycle IVF/FET package for an egg retrieval cycle plus one frozen embryo transfer (FET). Included: monitoring services/office visits and ultrasound monitoring, anesthesia services, embryology services including ICSI if needed, extended/blastocyst culture and assisted hatching, embryo freezing, and embryo storage for the first year. Medication costs are not included and vary by patient. The page does not state that PGT/genetic testing is included. Pricing is presented for Sacramento and Bay Area patients, is informational/estimated, and is subject to change without notice; no dated fee schedule or separate eligibility/payment requirement is posted beyond insurance/self-pay context.
Read Sep 23, 2026. Full terms on its page
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
IVF, as its website posts it
Kaiser Permanente publishes an average single fresh or freeze-all IVF cycle fee of approximately $17,420–$20,600. The total quoted cost includes applicable Kaiser fees for cycle management, monitoring, anesthesia, egg retrieval, embryo transfer, embryology, KP embryo-biopsy fees for genetic testing, and pregnancy testing. The range depends on cycle type and additional services such as embryo biopsy for PGT or assisted hatching. Medications are excluded and may cost up to $8,500; outside genetic-laboratory testing fees are also excluded. Full payment is required when booking, and prices may change without notice. The page covers Kaiser Permanente’s San Francisco and Sacramento centers, but states that services may vary by site; therefore, local applicability to Sacramento should be confirmed with the clinic.
Read Sep 29, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workCalifornia IVF Fertility Center
2 Cycle / High AMH
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals; medications extra
3 Cycle Plan
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 3 egg retrievals; medications extra
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsCalifornia IVF Fertility Center
Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
Average fee
Includes monitoring, anesthesia and storage
On top: medications
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsCalifornia IVF Fertility Center
Frozen embryo transfer cycle
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes monitoring, the transfer and the pregnancy test
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsCalifornia IVF Fertility Center
- Single cycle package, $18,000
Includes the first year of storage
One retrieval and one frozen embryo transfer; medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
No posted price we could confirm.
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
California IVF Fertility Center is in Sacramento, CA and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento is in Sacramento, CA, about 5 miles apart. Both are in the Sacramento metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
California IVF Fertility Center
2590 Venture Oaks Way, Suite 103, Sacramento, CA 95833
- Phone
- (916) 979-5599
- Medical director
- Ernest J. Zeringue, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
1650 Response Rd, Suite 1A, Sacramento, CA 95815
- Phone
- (916) 614-5083
- Medical director
- Lisa Farah-Eways, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Common questions about California IVF Fertility Center and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento
Which has the higher IVF success rate, California IVF Fertility Center or Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento?
For patients under 35, California IVF Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 45.9% per intended egg retrieval and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento reported 47.8% (CDC data for 2022). California IVF Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40 and over 40, and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento for patients under 35 and 35 to 37. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at California IVF Fertility Center compared with Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento?
California IVF Fertility Center's website posts $18,000 for IVF (read Sep 23, 2026) and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento's posts $17,420 (read Sep 29, 2026). The two amounts do not cover the same services, so the lower number is not necessarily the lower bill: read what each includes, and what it leaves out, before comparing them. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do California IVF Fertility Center and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento offer IVF refund programs?
California IVF Fertility Center offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails, and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
Which is the larger clinic, California IVF Fertility Center or Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento?
California IVF Fertility Center is the larger clinic: it reported 318 cycles to the CDC and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento reported 286. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are California IVF Fertility Center and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento?
California IVF Fertility Center is in Sacramento, CA and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento is in Sacramento, CA, about 5 miles apart. Both are in the Sacramento metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at California IVF Fertility Center and Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-Sacramento?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.