Head to head · Los Angeles area

LA/OC Fertility vs Western Fertility Institute

Two fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 22 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
4age bands compared
4treatments with a posted price

LA/OC Fertility (Redondo Beach, CA) and Western Fertility Institute (Encino, CA) are fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 22 miles apart. For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Western Fertility Institute reported 50.6% (CDC data for 2022). LA/OC Fertility posts an IVF price of $14,000 on its website. Western Fertility Institute posts an IVF price of $10,900 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
50.6%Higher
35–37
49.0%Higher
38–40
25.8%Higher
Over 40
20.7%Higher
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Western Fertility Institute reported 50.6% (CDC data for 2022). Western Fertility Institute reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
LA/OC Fertility
Western Fertility Institute
Under 35
35.4%59.3%
35–37
24.6%66.7%
38–40
25.0%–
Over 40
3.9%–

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
LA/OC Fertility
Western Fertility Institute
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
–62.4%
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

LA/OC Fertility

  • IVF, low end of a range up to $18,000

    Billed on top: medications, a frozen embryo transfer ($3,000-$4,000) and pre-cycle testing ($350+)

    Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, PGT genetic testing and assisted hatching

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Western Fertility Institute

  • Starting price

    Billed on top: medications

    Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

    An estimate for mini IVF, not a standard IVF cycle.

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

LA/OC Fertility

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Western Fertility Institute

  • Live birth guarantee financial packages

    Named on the clinic's website without its terms

    Price not posted

  • Affordable Guarantee Live Birth Package / GPDS-2 Donor/Surrogate Cycle (legacy fee agreements)

    More cycles at no charge if earlier ones fail, no cash refund; covers up to 1 egg retrieval; medications included

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

LA/OC Fertility

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Western Fertility Institute

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

LA/OC Fertility

  • Embryo transfer cycle

    Medications not included

    The clinic's estimate

    Listed apart from IVF

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Western Fertility Institute

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

LA/OC Fertility

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Western Fertility Institute

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
LA/OC Fertility
Western Fertility Institute
Donor egg services
Not offeredOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
No
No
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

LA/OC Fertility is in Redondo Beach, CA and Western Fertility Institute is in Encino, CA, about 22 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

LA/OC Fertility

510 N. Prospect Ave, Suite 205, Redondo Beach, CA 90277

Phone
(714) 988-4272
Medical director
Gayane Ambartsumyan, MD, PHD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Western Fertility Institute

16260 Ventura Blvd, Suite 210, Encino, CA 91436

Phone
(818) 292-2242
Medical director
Ashim V. Kumar, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Los Angeles clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare LA/OC Fertility with
Compare Western Fertility Institute with
Questions

Common questions about LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute

Which has the higher IVF success rate, LA/OC Fertility or Western Fertility Institute?

For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Western Fertility Institute reported 50.6% (CDC data for 2022). Western Fertility Institute reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at LA/OC Fertility compared with Western Fertility Institute?

LA/OC Fertility's website posts $14,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026) and Western Fertility Institute's posts $10,900 (read Oct 13, 2026). On medications, LA/OC Fertility's price bills them on top and Western Fertility Institute's bills them on top. The two amounts do not cover the same services, so the lower number is not necessarily the lower bill: read what each includes, and what it leaves out, before comparing them. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute offer IVF refund programs?

LA/OC Fertility offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Western Fertility Institute names a refund program on its website without posting its terms (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 35.4% at LA/OC Fertility and 59.3% at Western Fertility Institute had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.

How do LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute compare for donor egg IVF?

Of Western Fertility Institute's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 62.4% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for LA/OC Fertility (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, LA/OC Fertility or Western Fertility Institute?

LA/OC Fertility is the larger clinic: it reported 1,021 cycles to the CDC and Western Fertility Institute reported 192, about 5.3 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute?

LA/OC Fertility is in Redondo Beach, CA and Western Fertility Institute is in Encino, CA, about 22 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at LA/OC Fertility and Western Fertility Institute?

Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.