LA/OC Fertility vs Newport Fertility Center
Two fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 32 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
LA/OC Fertility (Redondo Beach, CA) and Newport Fertility Center (Newport Beach, CA) are fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 32 miles apart. For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Newport Fertility Center reported 51.4% (CDC data for 2022). LA/OC Fertility posts an IVF price of $14,000 on its website. Newport Fertility Center posts an IVF price of $12,660 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Newport Fertility Center reported 51.4% (CDC data for 2022). Newport Fertility Center reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
LA/OC Fertility
IVF, low end of a range up to $18,000
Billed on top: medications, a frozen embryo transfer ($3,000-$4,000) and pre-cycle testing ($350+)
Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, PGT genetic testing and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Newport Fertility Center
Low end of a range up to $30,780
The page does not say what this amount covers
Not stated on its page: medications, monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workLA/OC Fertility
- Sunfish IVF Success Program
A refund if treatment fails (amount not posted)
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Newport Fertility Center
- Multi-cycle packages
A multi-cycle package with no refund
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsNewport Fertility Center
One egg freezing cycle
On top: medications, anesthesia and storage
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsLA/OC Fertility
Embryo transfer cycle
Medications not included
The clinic's estimate
Listed apart from IVF
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Newport Fertility Center
Frozen embryo transfer
CCRM's network-wide price
The clinic's estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsNewport Fertility Center
IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A
CCRM's network-wide estimate
Covers the biopsy and the lab test
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
LA/OC Fertility
- $1,000 to $2,500a cycle
IUI
On top: medications
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Newport Fertility Center
- $950 to $4,305a cycle
IUI cycle
The range depends on the treatment plan
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsNewport Fertility Center
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
LA/OC Fertility is in Redondo Beach, CA and Newport Fertility Center is in Newport Beach, CA, about 32 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
LA/OC Fertility
510 N. Prospect Ave, Suite 205, Redondo Beach, CA 90277
- Phone
- (714) 988-4272
- Medical director
- Gayane Ambartsumyan, MD, PHD
- CDC status
- Open
Newport Fertility Center
3501 Jamboree Rd, Suite 1100, Newport Beach, CA 92660
- Phone
- (949) 222-1290
- Medical director
- Sina Abhari, MD
- CDC status
- Reorganized
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Los Angeles clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about LA/OC Fertility and Newport Fertility Center
Which has the higher IVF success rate, LA/OC Fertility or Newport Fertility Center?
For patients under 35, LA/OC Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 22.2% per intended egg retrieval and Newport Fertility Center reported 51.4% (CDC data for 2022). Newport Fertility Center reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at LA/OC Fertility compared with Newport Fertility Center?
LA/OC Fertility's website posts $14,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026) and Newport Fertility Center's posts $12,660 (read Oct 13, 2026). On medications, LA/OC Fertility's price bills them on top and Newport Fertility Center's does not say. The two amounts do not cover the same services, so the lower number is not necessarily the lower bill: read what each includes, and what it leaves out, before comparing them. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do LA/OC Fertility and Newport Fertility Center offer IVF refund programs?
LA/OC Fertility offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Newport Fertility Center offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at LA/OC Fertility and Newport Fertility Center?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 35.4% at LA/OC Fertility and 67.3% at Newport Fertility Center had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
Which is the larger clinic, LA/OC Fertility or Newport Fertility Center?
LA/OC Fertility is the larger clinic: it reported 1,021 cycles to the CDC and Newport Fertility Center reported 254, about 4.0 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are LA/OC Fertility and Newport Fertility Center?
LA/OC Fertility is in Redondo Beach, CA and Newport Fertility Center is in Newport Beach, CA, about 32 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at LA/OC Fertility and Newport Fertility Center?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.