Newport Fertility Center vs Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
Two fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 4 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Newport Fertility Center (Newport Beach, CA) and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine (Newport Beach, CA) are fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 4 miles apart. For patients under 35, Newport Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 51.4% per intended egg retrieval and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 46.0% (CDC data for 2022). Newport Fertility Center posts an IVF price of $12,660 on its website. Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Newport Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 51.4% per intended egg retrieval and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 46.0% (CDC data for 2022). Newport Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine for patients 35 to 37, 38 to 40 and over 40.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Newport Fertility Center
Low end of a range up to $30,780
The page does not say what this amount covers
Not stated on its page: medications, monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 5, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workNewport Fertility Center
- Multi-cycle packages
A multi-cycle package with no refund
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
- 3-Cycle IVF/PGT Batching Program
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 3 egg retrievals
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsNewport Fertility Center
One egg freezing cycle
On top: medications, anesthesia and storage
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsNewport Fertility Center
Frozen embryo transfer
CCRM's network-wide price
The clinic's estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsNewport Fertility Center
IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A
CCRM's network-wide estimate
Covers the biopsy and the lab test
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Newport Fertility Center
- $950 to $4,305a cycle
IUI cycle
The range depends on the treatment plan
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsNewport Fertility Center
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Newport Fertility Center is in Newport Beach, CA and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Newport Beach, CA, about 4 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Newport Fertility Center
3501 Jamboree Rd, Suite 1100, Newport Beach, CA 92660
- Phone
- (949) 222-1290
- Medical director
- Sina Abhari, MD
- CDC status
- Reorganized
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
361 Hospital Rd, Suite 333, Newport Beach, CA 92663
- Phone
- (949) 642-8727
- Medical director
- Robert E. Anderson, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Los Angeles clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Newport Fertility Center or Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
For patients under 35, Newport Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 51.4% per intended egg retrieval and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 46.0% (CDC data for 2022). Newport Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine for patients 35 to 37, 38 to 40 and over 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Newport Fertility Center compared with Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Newport Fertility Center's website posts $12,660 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 5, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine offer IVF refund programs?
Newport Fertility Center offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails, and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 67.3% at Newport Fertility Center and 57.8% at Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
How do Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 58.2% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Newport Fertility Center (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Newport Fertility Center or Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine is the larger clinic: it reported 448 cycles to the CDC and Newport Fertility Center reported 254, about 1.8 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Newport Fertility Center is in Newport Beach, CA and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Newport Beach, CA, about 4 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Newport Fertility Center and Southern California Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.