Bay IVF Center vs Palo Alto Medical Foundation
Two fertility clinics in the San Jose area, about 17 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Bay IVF Center (Palo Alto, CA) and Palo Alto Medical Foundation (San Jose, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Jose area, about 17 miles apart. For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Palo Alto Medical Foundation reported 57.5% (CDC data for 2022). Bay IVF Center posts an IVF price of $11,870 on its website. Palo Alto Medical Foundation posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Palo Alto Medical Foundation reported 57.5% (CDC data for 2022). Palo Alto Medical Foundation reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Bay IVF Center
In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture and an embryo transfer
Billed on top: medications, ICSI, embryo freezing, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing and pre-cycle testing
Not stated on its page: anesthesia, embryo storage and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Palo Alto Medical Foundation
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 5, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workBay IVF Center
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Palo Alto Medical Foundation
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsBay IVF Center
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring
On top: medications and storage
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsBay IVF Center
Gender selection, added to IVF
Includes embryo biopsy and freezing
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsBay IVF Center
Reciprocal IVF
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, embryo culture and embryo freezing
Medications not included
The clinic lists medications, pre-treatment testing, donor sperm, storage and the later frozen embryo transfer as costs to plan beside this fee
Read Oct 11, 2026. Full terms on its page
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Bay IVF Center is in Palo Alto, CA and Palo Alto Medical Foundation is in San Jose, CA, about 17 miles apart. Both are in the San Jose metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Bay IVF Center
1681 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306
- Phone
- (650) 322-0500
- Medical director
- Francis Polansky, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Palo Alto Medical Foundation
2581 Samaritan Dr, Suite 302, San Jose, CA 95124
- Phone
- (800) 597-2234
- Medical director
- Mohammad M. Ezzati, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another San Jose clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Bay IVF Center or Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Palo Alto Medical Foundation reported 57.5% (CDC data for 2022). Palo Alto Medical Foundation reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Bay IVF Center compared with Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
Bay IVF Center's website posts $11,870 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Palo Alto Medical Foundation posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 5, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation offer IVF refund programs?
Bay IVF Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website, and Palo Alto Medical Foundation offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 63.7% at Palo Alto Medical Foundation had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Bay IVF Center at that age.
How do Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Palo Alto Medical Foundation's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 42.4% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Bay IVF Center (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Bay IVF Center or Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
Palo Alto Medical Foundation is the larger clinic: it reported 479 cycles to the CDC and Bay IVF Center reported 101, about 4.7 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
Bay IVF Center is in Palo Alto, CA and Palo Alto Medical Foundation is in San Jose, CA, about 17 miles apart. Both are in the San Jose metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Bay IVF Center and Palo Alto Medical Foundation?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.