Head to head · San Jose area

Bay IVF Center vs Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

Two fertility clinics in the San Jose area, about 9 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
3age bands compared
8treatments with a posted price

Bay IVF Center (Palo Alto, CA) and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley (Sunnyvale, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Jose area, about 9 miles apart. For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley reported 52.3% (CDC data for 2022). Bay IVF Center posts an IVF price of $11,870 on its website. Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley posts an IVF price of $18,875 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
52.3%Higher
35–37
37.7%Higher
38–40
24.2%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley reported 52.3% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Bay IVF Center
Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley
Under 35
–63.0%
35–37
–52.7%
38–40
–37.5%
Over 40
–17.1%
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Bay IVF Center

  • In Vitro Fertilization (IVF)

    Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture and an embryo transfer

    Billed on top: medications, ICSI, embryo freezing, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing and pre-cycle testing

    Not stated on its page: anesthesia, embryo storage and assisted hatching

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • IVF w/Conventional Insemination, the clinic's estimate

    Includes anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture and an embryo transfer

    Billed on top: medications ($3,000-$5,000), ICSI, a frozen embryo transfer ($6,079-$7,505) and PGT genetic testing

    Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, embryo freezing, embryo storage, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Bay IVF Center

Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).

Open its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Bay IVF Center

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes monitoring

    On top: medications and storage

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • Pay-in-full price

    Includes monitoring and anesthesia

    On top: medications and storage ($950 a year)

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

Bay IVF Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    Includes the transfer

    Medications and anesthesia not included

    The clinic's estimate

    Its California cash-pay estimate

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

Bay IVF Center

  • Gender selection, added to IVF

    Includes embryo biopsy and freezing

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • Embryo freezing with genetic testing

    The clinic's estimate

    California cash-pay price

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Bay IVF Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • IUI cycle

    On top: medications ($100 to $500), for $2,898 to $4,334 in all

    Spring Fertility's California price

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Bay IVF Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

  • $950a year

    Embryo storage

    Its California price, paid in full

  • $950a year

    Egg storage

    Its California price, paid in full

  • $950a year

    Sperm storage

    Its California price, paid in full

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Bay IVF Center

  • Reciprocal IVF

    Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, embryo culture and embryo freezing

    Medications not included

    The clinic lists medications, pre-treatment testing, donor sperm, storage and the later frozen embryo transfer as costs to plan beside this fee

Read Oct 11, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Bay IVF Center
Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Bay IVF Center is in Palo Alto, CA and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley is in Sunnyvale, CA, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the San Jose metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Bay IVF Center

1681 El Camino Real, Palo Alto, CA 94306

Phone
(650) 322-0500
Medical director
Francis Polansky, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

550 Lakeside Dr, Sunnyvale, CA 94085

Phone
(415) 964-5618
Medical director
Nam D. Tran, MD, PHD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another San Jose clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Bay IVF Center with
Compare Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley with
Questions

Common questions about Bay IVF Center and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Bay IVF Center or Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

For patients under 35, Bay IVF Center reported a live-birth rate of 41.4% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley reported 52.3% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Bay IVF Center compared with Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

Bay IVF Center's website posts $11,870 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026) and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley's posts $18,875 (read Oct 13, 2026). On medications, Bay IVF Center's price bills them on top and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley's bills them on top. The two amounts do not cover the same services, so the lower number is not necessarily the lower bill: read what each includes, and what it leaves out, before comparing them. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Bay IVF Center and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley offer IVF refund programs?

Bay IVF Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website, and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Bay IVF Center and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 63.0% at Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Bay IVF Center at that age.

Which is the larger clinic, Bay IVF Center or Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley is the larger clinic: it reported 283 cycles to the CDC and Bay IVF Center reported 101, about 2.8 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Bay IVF Center and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

Bay IVF Center is in Palo Alto, CA and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley is in Sunnyvale, CA, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the San Jose metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Bay IVF Center and Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley?

Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.