Fertility clinics in San Jose and Silicon Valley
The 7 fertility clinics in the San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA metro area that report to the CDC, compared by IVF live-birth rate at every patient age, with what IVF costs here and what California law requires insurance to cover.
- Updated monthly · checked 12 h ago
7 fertility clinics in the San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA metro area report IVF outcomes to the CDC ART program. The highest reported live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval is 57.5% for patients under 35 (Palo Alto Medical Foundation), 54.5% for 35 to 37 (Nova In Vitro Fertilization), 36.2% for 38 to 40 (Palo Alto Medical Foundation) and 13.0% for over 40 (Palo Alto Medical Foundation). These are CDC averages that depend heavily on age and diagnosis, not a guarantee for any individual, and a higher rate can reflect a clinic's case mix as much as its lab.
Every San Jose-area clinic, at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band, so you can read the column for your age. Ranked by reported cycle volume; the highest rate in each column is highlighted. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
- Stanford Medicine Fertility & Reproductive HealthSunnyvale, CA · 737 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3534.8%35–3725.4%38–4016.5%Over 406.3%737 - Palo Alto Medical FoundationSan Jose, CA · 479 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
35–3743.2%479 - Spring Fertility-Silicon ValleySunnyvale, CA · 283 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3552.3%35–3737.7%38–4024.2%Over 4010.7%283 - CARE for the Bay AreaLos Gatos, CA · 167 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3535.1%35–3726.8%38–4016.7%Over 400.0%167 - Under 3555.0%38–4026.9%Over 4012.9%167
- Under 3541.4%35–3731.8%38–4024.1%Over 40– not reported for patients over 40101
- Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40–
Rates and cycle counts come from the CDC ART program (2022 reporting year), the national reporting every US clinic is required to submit. The area is the Census Bureau's San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA metropolitan statistical area; a clinic belongs to it by the ZIP code of its address.
Metro area: US Census Bureau metropolitan statistical areas
How much does IVF cost in San Jose and Silicon Valley?
What one IVF cycle costs, here and nationally. The 4 clinic-published prices in the San Jose area are listed below the insurance section, each with its own terms and source.
We found clinic-published IVF price references at 4 of the 7 San Jose-area clinic locations we have checked so far. Each amount covers a different service (a retrieval-only fee, a bundled cycle, or the low end of a range), so read the terms beside it rather than averaging them. Nationally, a single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000, and because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000.
Every published price in the San Jose area, with its termsDoes insurance cover IVF in San Jose and Silicon Valley?
What California law requires of health plans, and why your employer's plan type matters as much.
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF.
Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027.
California's full answer, with fertility preservationState insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. How to check your own plan.
Source: RESOLVE Insurance Coverage by State · as of Oct 1, 2026
Services at San Jose-area clinics
Of the 7 CDC-reporting clinics in the San Jose area, 6 offer donor egg services, 7 offer a gestational carrier (surrogacy) program, and 3 offer donated embryo services. 7 are members of SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. Each figure counts only clinics the CDC affirms offer the service.
Source: CDC ART Services & Profiles (NASS) · as of Oct 2, 2026
Published IVF prices in the San Jose area
The 4 of 7 San Jose-area clinic locations we checked that post an IVF price on their own website, each with the terms and source it was read from.
Listed alphabetically. Read each amount together with its terms, including any range, eligibility limits, source date and location restrictions. These different packages do not support a like-for-like median or a cheapest-clinic ranking.
- Bay IVF Center
Palo Alto, CA
Amount in source
$11,870Recorded terms and exclusions
Bay IVF’s published base IVF fee is $11,870 for one cycle. Includes office visits, ultrasounds, egg retrieval, embryo culture, and a fresh (unfrozen) embryo transfer. Excludes fertility medications purchased through a pharmacy, pre-treatment screening evaluation and hormonal assays, several California/state-required blood or laboratory tests, and optional services such as ICSI, PGT, and gender selection. The fee is for Bay IVF’s Palo Alto, California clinic; treatment plans vary and the clinic advises requesting a personalized estimate.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Kindbody Silicon Valley
Los Altos, CA
Amount in source
$12,500Recorded terms and exclusions
Kindbody publishes $12,500 for one IVF cycle. The stated inclusions are ovarian stimulation monitoring, egg retrieval procedure, semen preparation, fertilization and culture of the eggs, and embryo transfer procedure. Treatment medications are not included. Kindbody says its listed prices are cash-pay rates, insurance or employer-benefit pricing may vary, and services vary by location. The Los Altos, California clinic page confirms the Silicon Valley location and offers IVF, but does not publish a separate Los Altos-specific IVF fee; therefore, local applicability of the $12,500 network price is unconfirmed and it should not be treated as a location-specific quote.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Nova In Vitro Fertilization
Mountain View, CA
Amount in source
$14,000Recorded terms and exclusions
Nova IVF's official Mountain View, California website publishes a self-pay IVF price range of $14,000-$20,000 for one IVF treatment. The lower end of the published range is reported as the base_price. The page states that these are self-pay fees for services provided at Nova, that medication costs are not included, and that prices are subject to change. The treatment plan and final cost depend on the patient's physiology, response to medications, fertility goals, and insurance coverage. No separate IVF inclusion breakdown, eligibility requirements, or dated fee schedule is displayed; the clinic's Mountain View location is confirmed at 2500 Hospital Dr, Building 7, Mountain View, CA 94040.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Spring Fertility-Silicon Valley
Sunnyvale, CA
Amount in source
$18,875Recorded terms and exclusions
Spring Fertility's current cash-pay estimate for one IVF cycle with conventional insemination at its California clinics: $18,875 for the cycle. The table lists anesthesia, embryo transfer, Zymot, and saline sonogram as included; medications are separate at $3,000-$5,000; PGT is not included/applicable for this option. Estimated total shown is $22,875-$24,875. Spring states these are estimates rather than final bills, insurance coverage varies by employer plan, and a personalized cost breakdown is provided after physician consultation. The Sunnyvale clinic page identifies the Silicon Valley location in Sunnyvale, California.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked