Fertility clinics in San Diego, CA
The 8 fertility clinics in the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA metro area that report to the CDC, compared by IVF live-birth rate at every patient age, with what IVF costs here and what California law requires insurance to cover.
- Updated monthly · checked 12 h ago
8 fertility clinics in the San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA metro area report IVF outcomes to the CDC ART program. The highest reported live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval is 65.7% for patients under 35 (Reproductive Sciences Medical Center), 44.4% for 35 to 37 (San Diego Fertility Center), 32.2% for 38 to 40 (Reproductive Partners Fertility Center-San Diego) and 11.1% for over 40 (San Diego Fertility Center). These are CDC averages that depend heavily on age and diagnosis, not a guarantee for any individual, and a higher rate can reflect a clinic's case mix as much as its lab.
Every San Diego-area clinic, at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band, so you can read the column for your age. Ranked by reported cycle volume; the highest rate in each column is highlighted. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
- San Diego Fertility CenterSan Diego, CA · 592 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3561.1%38–4024.8%592 - Reproductive Partners Fertility Center-San DiegoLa Jolla, CA · 439 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3554.2%35–3741.8%Over 408.4%439 - Under 359.8%35–372.9%38–403.6%Over 401.1%310
- Fertility Specialists Medical GroupSan Diego, CA · 174 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3537.7%35–3728.3%38–4011.4%Over 409.7%174 - 35–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–4023.1%Over 405.7%142
- RMA of San Diego dba, Pearl Mini IVFSan Diego, CA · 56 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–4010.0%Over 400.0%56 - California Center for Reproductive MedicineEncinitas, CA
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40– - Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40–
Rates and cycle counts come from the CDC ART program (2022 reporting year), the national reporting every US clinic is required to submit. The area is the Census Bureau's San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA metropolitan statistical area; a clinic belongs to it by the ZIP code of its address.
Metro area: US Census Bureau metropolitan statistical areas
How much does IVF cost in San Diego, CA?
What one IVF cycle costs, here and nationally. The 2 clinic-published prices in the San Diego area are listed below the insurance section, each with its own terms and source.
We found clinic-published IVF price references at 2 of the 8 San Diego-area clinic locations we have checked so far. Each amount covers a different service (a retrieval-only fee, a bundled cycle, or the low end of a range), so read the terms beside it rather than averaging them. Nationally, a single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000, and because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000.
Every published price in the San Diego area, with its termsDoes insurance cover IVF in San Diego, CA?
What California law requires of health plans, and why your employer's plan type matters as much.
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF.
Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027.
California's full answer, with fertility preservationState insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. How to check your own plan.
Source: RESOLVE Insurance Coverage by State · as of Oct 1, 2026
Services at San Diego-area clinics
Of the 8 CDC-reporting clinics in the San Diego area, 8 offer donor egg services, 8 offer a gestational carrier (surrogacy) program, and 6 offer donated embryo services. 5 are members of SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. Each figure counts only clinics the CDC affirms offer the service.
Source: CDC ART Services & Profiles (NASS) · as of Oct 2, 2026
Published IVF prices in the San Diego area
The 2 of 8 San Diego-area clinic locations we checked that post an IVF price on their own website, each with the terms and source it was read from.
Listed alphabetically. Read each amount together with its terms, including any range, eligibility limits, source date and location restrictions. These different packages do not support a like-for-like median or a cheapest-clinic ranking.
- Reproductive Sciences Medical Center
San Diego, CA
Amount in source
$30,000Recorded terms and exclusions
Published as “$30,000 up” for an own-sperm/own-egg, self-pregnancy IVF cycle package at RSMC San Diego. The clinic states that it includes one IVF cycle, laboratory facility fees, PGS genetic screening for 1–15 embryos, stimulation-medication reimbursement up to $5,000, 1–3 embryo transfers, and the first year of cryopreservation. This is an all-inclusive package rather than a standalone base-cycle fee; the page does not publish the upper end of the range. Additional eligibility, exclusions, and final pricing require inquiry/contract confirmation. Applicable clinic location listed: 3661 Valley Centre Dr., San Diego, CA 92130.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - San Diego Fertility Center
San Diego, CA
Amount in source
$14,000Recorded terms and exclusions
San Diego Fertility Center's official San Diego, California costs page publishes an IVF estimate of $14,000-$18,000+ per cycle. The page does not itemize what the base IVF estimate includes or excludes; it separately lists frozen embryo transfer at $4,000-$6,000+ and embryo genetic testing (PGT) at $3,000+. The clinic states that actual cost depends on the patient's treatment goals, treatment plan, and insurance coverage, with benefits reviewed after consultation. No dated fee schedule or medication inclusion is specified on the page.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked