Fertility clinics in San Francisco, CA
The 14 fertility clinics in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro area that report to the CDC, compared by IVF live-birth rate at every patient age, with what IVF costs here and what California law requires insurance to cover.
- Updated monthly · checked 12 h ago
14 fertility clinics in the San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metro area report IVF outcomes to the CDC ART program. The highest reported live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval is 54.2% for patients under 35 (Spring Fertility-East Bay), 46.7% for 35 to 37 (Reproductive Science Center of the San Francisco Bay Area), 34.8% for 38 to 40 (Kindbody-San Francisco) and 22.9% for over 40 (Spring Fertility-East Bay). These are CDC averages that depend heavily on age and diagnosis, not a guarantee for any individual, and a higher rate can reflect a clinic's case mix as much as its lab.
Every San Francisco-area clinic, at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band, so you can read the column for your age. Ranked by reported cycle volume; the highest rate in each column is highlighted. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
- UCSF Center for Reproductive HealthSan Francisco, CA · 1,429 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3537.8%35–3733.8%38–4024.0%Over 408.2%1,429 - Spring Fertility-San FranciscoSan Francisco, CA · 1,374 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3552.4%35–3741.3%38–4027.0%Over 4013.5%1,374 - Reproductive Science Center of the San Francisco Bay AreaSan Ramon, CA · 1,305 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3553.4%38–4031.6%Over 4014.5%1,305 - Reproductive Medicine Associates of Northern CaliforniaSan Francisco, CA · 1,047 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3553.0%35–3736.5%38–4021.4%Over 4010.5%1,047 - Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive Health-FremontFremont, CA · 719 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3546.7%35–3738.3%38–4020.8%Over 4011.1%719 - Pacific Fertility CenterSan Francisco, CA · 487 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3539.6%35–3738.3%38–4026.4%Over 4010.0%487 - CCRM San Francisco, Bay Area Center for Reproductive Medicine, LLC (BACRM)Menlo Park, CA · 463 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3545.5%35–3737.8%38–4030.7%Over 409.5%463 - Laurel Fertility CareSan Francisco, CA · 265 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3537.9%35–3730.9%38–4020.0%Over 408.5%265 - 35–3740.3%38–4026.0%235
- Under 3545.8%35–3729.8%38–4023.0%Over 404.3%202
- Under 3535.8%35–3733.3%38–4020.5%Over 405.9%176
- Kaiser Permanente Center for Reproductive HealthSan Francisco, CA · 172 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · SART member
Under 3537.2%35–3739.2%38–4027.8%Over 4016.7%172 - Under 3546.4%35–3730.6%Over 40– not reported for patients over 4098
- Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40–
Rates and cycle counts come from the CDC ART program (2022 reporting year), the national reporting every US clinic is required to submit. The area is the Census Bureau's San Francisco-Oakland-Fremont, CA metropolitan statistical area; a clinic belongs to it by the ZIP code of its address.
Metro area: US Census Bureau metropolitan statistical areas
How much does IVF cost in San Francisco, CA?
What one IVF cycle costs, here and nationally. The 7 clinic-published prices in the San Francisco area are listed below the insurance section, each with its own terms and source.
We found clinic-published IVF price references at 7 of the 14 San Francisco-area clinic locations we have checked so far. Each amount covers a different service (a retrieval-only fee, a bundled cycle, or the low end of a range), so read the terms beside it rather than averaging them. Nationally, a single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000, and because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000.
Every published price in the San Francisco area, with its termsDoes insurance cover IVF in San Francisco, CA?
What California law requires of health plans, and why your employer's plan type matters as much.
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF.
Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027.
California's full answer, with fertility preservationState insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. How to check your own plan.
Source: RESOLVE Insurance Coverage by State · as of Oct 1, 2026
Services at San Francisco-area clinics
Of the 14 CDC-reporting clinics in the San Francisco area, 13 offer donor egg services, 14 offer a gestational carrier (surrogacy) program, and 5 offer donated embryo services. 13 are members of SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. Each figure counts only clinics the CDC affirms offer the service.
Source: CDC ART Services & Profiles (NASS) · as of Oct 2, 2026
Published IVF prices in the San Francisco area
The 7 of 14 San Francisco-area clinic locations we checked that post an IVF price on their own website, each with the terms and source it was read from.
Listed alphabetically. Read each amount together with its terms, including any range, eligibility limits, source date and location restrictions. These different packages do not support a like-for-like median or a cheapest-clinic ranking.
Amount in source
$12,660Recorded terms and exclusions
CCRM Fertility of San Francisco’s Menlo Park, CA page publishes an average one-round IVF range of $12,660–$30,780. The lower end, $12,660, is used as the base one-cycle price. The clinic states that exact pricing varies with medications, tests, and procedures associated with the cycle; it does not provide an itemized inclusion/exclusion list on the local page. The separate CCRM IVF fee schedule describes estimated IVF-cycle fees and excludes anesthesia, testing, medication, and storage; fees are estimates, subject to change without prior notice. Insurance coverage, financing, and multi-cycle packages may apply, but are not included in this base price.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked- Kindbody-San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Amount in source
$12,500Recorded terms and exclusions
Kindbody publishes an IVF cycle price of $12,500. The base cycle includes ovarian stimulation monitoring, egg retrieval procedure, semen preparation, fertilization and culture of the eggs, and embryo transfer procedure. Kindbody's San Francisco conception page states that prices vary by insurance coverage and that bloodwork and medications are not included; medications may cost approximately $3,000-$6,000 if not covered. Kindbody also states that services vary by location, so local San Francisco applicability should be confirmed with the clinic; this is a general Kindbody-published rate, not an individualized San Francisco quote.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Pacific Fertility Center
San Francisco, CA
Amount in source
$18,000Recorded terms and exclusions
Pacific Fertility Center’s published base IVF price without PGT is $18,000 for its San Francisco/Bay Area practice. Includes ultrasounds and blood monitoring, anesthesia, egg retrieval, conventional insemination, embryo culture, embryo cryopreservation, and 1 year of embryo storage. Medications are not included. The same page lists IVF with PGT separately at $22,250; this is not included in the $18,000 base price.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked Amount in source
$14,000Recorded terms and exclusions
RSC publishes a general San Francisco Bay Area estimate of $14,000–$19,000 for one IVF cycle, plus medications. The clinic does not itemize what the cycle fee includes or excludes on this page; it specifically notes that additional fees may apply for hospital charges, drug costs, and testing. This is a Bay Area planning range from RSC, not a San Ramon-specific quote; local applicability is therefore unconfirmed. The page was published March 27, 2025.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked- Spring Fertility-East Bay
Oakland, CA
Amount in source
$17,327Recorded terms and exclusions
Spring Fertility's current cash-pay rate estimate for the East Bay/Oakland clinic lists one IVF cycle with conventional insemination at $17,327. The cycle fee includes anesthesia, embryo transfer, Zymot, and saline sonogram. Medications are listed separately at $3,000-$5,000 and are not included. PGT is listed as N/A for this option. The clinic says these are estimates, not final bills; insurance coverage varies by employer plan, and a personalized cost breakdown is provided after consultation and confirmation of the treatment plan. The Oakland clinic is at 80 Grand Avenue, 3rd Floor, Oakland, CA 94612.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Spring Fertility-San Francisco
San Francisco, CA
Amount in source
$18,875Recorded terms and exclusions
Spring Fertility’s current cash-pay estimate for one IVF cycle with conventional insemination: $18,875 for the cycle itself. Medications are listed separately at $3,000–$5,000 and are excluded from the base price. PGT is not included/applicable in this row; anesthesia, embryo transfer, Zymot, and saline sonogram are listed as included. Spring states these are estimates, not final bills, and that the final personalized cost breakdown is provided after consultation and confirmation of the treatment plan. The finance page is Spring Fertility’s California/network pricing page and the San Francisco location directs patients to it for cost estimates.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - UCSF Center for Reproductive Health
San Francisco, CA
Amount in source
$14,000Recorded terms and exclusions
UCSF Center for Reproductive Health in San Francisco publishes a cash-pay IVF cycle estimate of $14,000-$20,000 for the cycle component alone. Medications are listed separately at $4,000-$6,000, PGT separately at $2,000, and anesthesia separately at $816. The resulting published estimated total is $20,900-$28,900 when those additional items are included. UCSF states these are high-level estimates with a 50% cash-pay discount applied to total billed charges; actual patient responsibility varies with insurance benefits, deductibles, coinsurance, and coverage restrictions. The figures apply to UCSF Center for Reproductive Health's San Francisco program. A complimentary consultation with a financial navigator is recommended for an individualized quote.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked