Fertility clinics in Birmingham, AL
The 3 fertility clinics in the Birmingham, AL metro area that report to the CDC, compared by IVF live-birth rate at every patient age, with what IVF costs here and what Alabama law requires insurance to cover.
- Updated monthly · checked 11 h ago
3 fertility clinics in the Birmingham, AL metro area report IVF outcomes to the CDC ART program. The highest reported live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band is at Alabama Fertility Specialists: 56.5% for patients under 35, 40.6% for 35 to 37, 27.1% for 38 to 40 and 4.3% for over 40. These are CDC averages that depend heavily on age and diagnosis, not a guarantee for any individual, and a higher rate can reflect a clinic's case mix as much as its lab.
Every Birmingham-area clinic, at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band, so you can read the column for your age. Ranked by reported cycle volume; the highest rate in each column is highlighted. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
- Alabama Fertility SpecialistsBirmingham, AL · 301 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
301 - University of Alabama at Birmingham, Reproductive Endocrinology and InfertilityBirmingham, AL · 86 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3539.1%35–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 4086 - Innovative Fertility SpecialistsBirmingham, AL · 42 cyclesUnder 3525.0%35–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 4042
Rates and cycle counts come from the CDC ART program (2022 reporting year), the national reporting every US clinic is required to submit. The area is the Census Bureau's Birmingham, AL metropolitan statistical area; a clinic belongs to it by the ZIP code of its address.
Metro area: US Census Bureau metropolitan statistical areas
How much does IVF cost in Birmingham, AL?
What one IVF cycle typically costs, and how to get a real number from the clinics in this area.
No clinic in the Birmingham area publishes an IVF price online yet; most quote only after a consult, so ask each clinic for a written, itemized estimate. Nationally, a single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000, and because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000.
IVF refund programs in Birmingham, AL
Which Birmingham-area clinics return money if treatment fails, which sell multi-cycle packages, and which offer neither, as each clinic's own website states it.
Of the 3 Birmingham-area clinics whose websites we read on October 6, 2026, none offers a program that returns money if treatment fails; 1 names a refund program without posting its terms. Across the US, 128 of 452 clinic locations offer one.
- Alabama Fertility SpecialistsA refund program named, no terms posted
- Shared risk programPrice not posted
Named on the clinic's website without its terms.
No refund program or multi-cycle package on their websites: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, Innovative Fertility Specialists.
From our check of every US clinic's refund programs, read Oct 6, 2026. Each program covers a different number of cycles, refund and exclusions, so its price is listed beside its own terms and never averaged. Ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
Does insurance cover IVF in Birmingham, AL?
What Alabama law requires of health plans, and why your employer's plan type matters as much.
No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Alabama law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation.
Alabama's full answer, with fertility preservationState insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. How to check your own plan.
Source: RESOLVE Insurance Coverage by State · as of Oct 1, 2026
Services at Birmingham-area clinics
Of the 3 CDC-reporting clinics in the Birmingham area, 2 offer donor egg services, 2 offer a gestational carrier (surrogacy) program, and 2 offer donated embryo services. 2 are members of SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. Each figure counts only clinics the CDC affirms offer the service.
Source: CDC ART Services & Profiles (NASS) · as of Oct 6, 2026