Fertility clinics in Washington, DC
The 10 fertility clinics in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro area that report to the CDC, compared by IVF live-birth rate at every patient age, with what IVF costs here and what Virginia, Maryland and District of Columbia law requires insurance to cover.
- Updated monthly · checked 12 h ago
10 fertility clinics in the Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metro area report IVF outcomes to the CDC ART program. The highest reported live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval is 54.9% for patients under 35 (Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville), 45.2% for 35 to 37 (Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed, Walter Reed National Military Medical Center), 28.0% for 38 to 40 (Genetics & IVF Institute) and 8.6% for over 40 (Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville). These are CDC averages that depend heavily on age and diagnosis, not a guarantee for any individual, and a higher rate can reflect a clinic's case mix as much as its lab.
Every Washington, DC-area clinic, at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval in each age band, so you can read the column for your age. Ranked by reported cycle volume; the highest rate in each column is highlighted. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
- Shady Grove Fertility-RockvilleRockville, MD · 5,717 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
35–3739.0%38–4025.2%5,717 - Dominion FertilityArlington, VA · 783 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3538.6%35–3734.1%38–4013.9%Over 403.5%783 - Under 3540.7%35–3735.4%38–4020.3%Over 407.0%721
- Columbia Fertility AssociatesWashington, DC · 488 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 3542.0%35–3735.6%38–4020.3%Over 405.3%488 - Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed, Walter Reed National Military Medical CenterBethesda, MD · 277 cycles
SART member
Under 3550.0%38–4015.3%Over 401.9%277 - Under 3543.5%35–3738.7%Over 40– not reported for patients over 4097
- Virginia Center for Reproductive MedicineReston, VA · 81 cycles
Donor eggs · Gestational carrier · Donated embryo · SART member
Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–3723.8%38–4010.0%Over 40– not reported for patients over 4081 - Under 3540.0%35–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–4018.2%Over 40– not reported for patients over 4078
- Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40–
- Under 35– not reported for patients under 3535–37– not reported for patients 35 to 3738–40– not reported for patients 38 to 40Over 40– not reported for patients over 40–
Rates and cycle counts come from the CDC ART program (2022 reporting year), the national reporting every US clinic is required to submit. The area is the Census Bureau's Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV metropolitan statistical area; a clinic belongs to it by the ZIP code of its address.
Metro area: US Census Bureau metropolitan statistical areas
How much does IVF cost in Washington, DC?
What one IVF cycle costs, here and nationally. The 3 clinic-published prices in the Washington, DC area are listed below the insurance section, each with its own terms and source.
We found clinic-published IVF price references at 3 of the 10 Washington, DC-area clinic locations we have checked so far. Each amount covers a different service (a retrieval-only fee, a bundled cycle, or the low end of a range), so read the terms beside it rather than averaging them. Nationally, a single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000, and because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000.
Every published price in the Washington, DC area, with its termsDoes insurance cover IVF in Washington, DC?
This area's clinics are in Virginia, Maryland and District of Columbia. A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is.
No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation.
Virginia's full answer, with fertility preservationYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF.
Individual and group policies that cover pregnancy must cover three IVF cycles per live birth, up to a $100,000 lifetime maximum. Employers with fewer than 50 employees are exempt.
Maryland's full answer, with fertility preservationYes, for many plans: District of Columbia requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF.
Since January 1, 2025, individual, small-group and large-group plans must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including at least three complete egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers.
District of Columbia's full answer, with fertility preservationState insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. How to check your own plan.
Source: RESOLVE Insurance Coverage by State · as of Oct 1, 2026
Services at Washington, DC-area clinics
Of the 10 CDC-reporting clinics in the Washington, DC area, 9 offer donor egg services, 9 offer a gestational carrier (surrogacy) program, and 4 offer donated embryo services. 9 are members of SART, the Society for Assisted Reproductive Technology. Each figure counts only clinics the CDC affirms offer the service.
Source: CDC ART Services & Profiles (NASS) · as of Oct 2, 2026
Published IVF prices in the Washington, DC area
The 3 of 10 Washington, DC-area clinic locations we checked that post an IVF price on their own website, each with the terms and source it was read from.
Listed alphabetically. Read each amount together with its terms, including any range, eligibility limits, source date and location restrictions. These different packages do not support a like-for-like median or a cheapest-clinic ranking.
- CCRM Northern Virginia
Vienna, VA
Amount in source
$12,660Recorded terms and exclusions
CCRM publishes an estimated IVF Cycle with Fresh Eggs range of $12,660–$20,855 for IVF treatment. Anesthesia, testing, medication, and storage fees are not included. Fees are estimates subject to change without prior notice. This is a general CCRM network estimate; the page does not confirm that this range is specifically applicable to the Vienna, Virginia clinic, so it should not be treated as a location-specific quote. The Vienna clinic is located at 8010 Towers Crescent Drive, 5th Floor, Vienna, VA 22182.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Rockville, MD
Amount in source
$11,000Recorded terms and exclusions
Shady Grove Fertility's July 2022 official financial-program guide lists a Single Cycle IVF Program at $11,000. It includes one IVF cycle including fresh embryo transfer. The guide lists embryo cryopreservation ($1,700), monthly cryostorage ($60/month, up to $120/month per gamete type for multiple cryopreservation events), frozen embryo transfer ($5,000), and PGT-related services as excluded or separately charged. Patients needing PGT do not qualify for this Single Cycle IVF Program. The guide states that its fees are estimates at the time of publication and subject to change. This is a Shady Grove Fertility program-level price, not a Rockville-specific quote; local applicability should be confirmed with the Rockville financial counselor. SGF's current pricing page says there is no single universal price and directs patients to obtain an individualized figure after consultation and benefits verification.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked - Washington Fertility Center
Annandale, VA
Amount in source
$20,900Recorded terms and exclusions
Washington Fertility Center publishes a standard IVF single-cycle price of $20,900 for patients without health-insurance fertility coverage. The page also advertises a limited-time discounted single-cycle price of $9,985, effective June 1, 2026, for eligible patients under age 43 without insurance coverage. Standard single-cycle listing includes monitoring, egg retrieval, embryo culture, frozen embryo thawing and transfer, and embryo-assisted hatching; it separately lists ICSI ($1,990), embryo cryopreservation ($1,900), PGT-A/embryo biopsy ($2,900), embryo storage ($900/year), anesthesia per retrieval ($690), and medications (approximately $3,000–$6,000 per cycle). The discounted program has different inclusions and exclusions, including medications up to $3,000, one embryo transfer, and exclusions for anesthesia ($690), storage ($75/month), genetic testing/biopsy, and subsequent frozen transfer. Prices are subject to change without notice. The official pricing page is for Washington Fertility Center’s Northern Virginia, Maryland, and DC program and is applicable to its Annandale, Virginia clinic.
Read clinic pricing sourceSource checked