Head to head · Washington, DC area

CCRM Northern Virginia vs Columbia Fertility Associates

Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 9 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 15 h ago
4age bands compared
6treatments with a posted price

CCRM Northern Virginia (Vienna, VA) and Columbia Fertility Associates (Washington, DC) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 9 miles apart. For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Columbia Fertility Associates reported 42.0% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia posts an IVF price of $12,660 on its website. Columbia Fertility Associates posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
42.0%Higher
35–37
35.6%Higher
38–40
Over 40
7.0%Higher
Cycles reported

For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Columbia Fertility Associates reported 42.0% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia reported the higher rate for patients over 40, and Columbia Fertility Associates for patients under 35 and 35 to 37, and the two reported the same rate for patients 38 to 40.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • IVF, as its website posts it

    CCRM’s official financing page publishes an approximate per-cycle IVF range of $12,660-$30,780; $12,660 is the low end of the published range, not a Vienna-specific quoted fee. The listed components are bloodwork and monitoring, egg retrieval, sperm preparation, fertilization and embryo culture, embryo cryopreservation, embryo biopsy and PGT-A, and frozen embryo transfer. CCRM says the range represents an average, prices are subject to market conditions, and exact costs vary by the personalized treatment plan. The page does not state whether medications, anesthesia, or other ancillary charges are included or excluded, and it does not provide a dated Vienna fee schedule. Local applicability to CCRM Northern Virginia in Vienna, VA is therefore unconfirmed; insurance coverage, prior authorization or referral requirements, and payment timing may vary, with treatment costs typically due before the cycle starts.

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Assure - IVF Refund Program

    100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 3 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 39

    Price not posted

  • CCRM Multi-Cycle IVF Program

    A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 40

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    CCRM's network-wide price

    The clinic's estimate

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    Covers the biopsy and the lab test

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Natural cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market); this location's own page states no IUI figure

  • Stimulated cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market)

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Columbia Fertility Associates

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
CCRM Northern Virginia
Columbia Fertility Associates
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Columbia Fertility Associates is in Washington, DC, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

CCRM Northern Virginia

8010 Towers Crescent Dr, 5th Floor, Vienna, VA 22182

Phone
(571) 789-2100
Medical director
Mark D. Payson, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Columbia Fertility Associates

2440 M St N.W., Suite 401, Washington, DC 20037

Phone
(202) 293-6567
Medical director
Preston Sacks, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer
  • District of Columbia: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: District of Columbia requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. District of Columbia's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Questions

Common questions about CCRM Northern Virginia and Columbia Fertility Associates

Which has the higher IVF success rate, CCRM Northern Virginia or Columbia Fertility Associates?

For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Columbia Fertility Associates reported 42.0% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia reported the higher rate for patients over 40, and Columbia Fertility Associates for patients under 35 and 35 to 37, and the two reported the same rate for patients 38 to 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at CCRM Northern Virginia compared with Columbia Fertility Associates?

CCRM Northern Virginia's website posts $12,660 for IVF (read Oct 4, 2026). Columbia Fertility Associates posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do CCRM Northern Virginia and Columbia Fertility Associates offer IVF refund programs?

CCRM Northern Virginia offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Columbia Fertility Associates offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

Which is the larger clinic, CCRM Northern Virginia or Columbia Fertility Associates?

CCRM Northern Virginia is the larger clinic: it reported 721 cycles to the CDC and Columbia Fertility Associates reported 488. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are CCRM Northern Virginia and Columbia Fertility Associates?

CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Columbia Fertility Associates is in Washington, DC, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at CCRM Northern Virginia and Columbia Fertility Associates?

A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Yes, for many plans: District of Columbia requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.