CCRM Northern Virginia vs Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
CCRM Northern Virginia (Vienna, VA) and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville (Rockville, MD) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported 54.9% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia posts an IVF price of $12,660 on its website. Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville posts an IVF price of $11,000 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported 54.9% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
CCRM Northern Virginia
IVF, as its website posts it
CCRM’s official financing page publishes an approximate per-cycle IVF range of $12,660-$30,780; $12,660 is the low end of the published range, not a Vienna-specific quoted fee. The listed components are bloodwork and monitoring, egg retrieval, sperm preparation, fertilization and embryo culture, embryo cryopreservation, embryo biopsy and PGT-A, and frozen embryo transfer. CCRM says the range represents an average, prices are subject to market conditions, and exact costs vary by the personalized treatment plan. The page does not state whether medications, anesthesia, or other ancillary charges are included or excluded, and it does not provide a dated Vienna fee schedule. Local applicability to CCRM Northern Virginia in Vienna, VA is therefore unconfirmed; insurance coverage, prior authorization or referral requirements, and payment timing may vary, with treatment costs typically due before the cycle starts.
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
IVF, as its website posts it
Shady Grove Fertility's July 2022 official financial-program guide lists a Single Cycle IVF Program at $11,000. It includes one IVF cycle including fresh embryo transfer. The guide lists embryo cryopreservation ($1,700), monthly cryostorage ($60/month, up to $120/month per gamete type for multiple cryopreservation events), frozen embryo transfer ($5,000), and PGT-related services as excluded or separately charged. Patients needing PGT do not qualify for this Single Cycle IVF Program. The guide states that its fees are estimates at the time of publication and subject to change. This is a Shady Grove Fertility program-level price, not a Rockville-specific quote; local applicability should be confirmed with the Rockville financial counselor. SGF's current pricing page says there is no single universal price and directs patients to obtain an individualized figure after consultation and benefits verification.
Read Oct 1, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workCCRM Northern Virginia
- Assure - IVF Refund Program
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 3 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 39
Price not posted
- CCRM Multi-Cycle IVF Program
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 40
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
- Shared Risk 100% Refund Program for Frozen Embryo Transfers (FET)
100% of the program fee back if no pregnancy
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsCCRM Northern Virginia
One egg freezing cycle
On top: medications, anesthesia and storage
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsCCRM Northern Virginia
Frozen embryo transfer
CCRM's network-wide price
The clinic's estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsCCRM Northern Virginia
IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A
CCRM's network-wide estimate
Covers the biopsy and the lab test
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
CCRM Northern Virginia
- $950 to $2,835a cycle
Natural cycle IUI
CCRM's network-wide estimate
On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)
CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market); this location's own page states no IUI figure
- $1,300 to $4,305a cycle
Stimulated cycle IUI
CCRM's network-wide estimate
On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)
CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market)
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsCCRM Northern Virginia
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is in Rockville, MD, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
CCRM Northern Virginia
8010 Towers Crescent Dr, 5th Floor, Vienna, VA 22182
- Phone
- (571) 789-2100
- Medical director
- Mark D. Payson, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
9601 Blackwell Rd, 4th Floor, Rockville, MD 20850
- Phone
- (301) 340-1188
- Medical director
- Michael J. Levy, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer
- Maryland: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Maryland's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Common questions about CCRM Northern Virginia and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Which has the higher IVF success rate, CCRM Northern Virginia or Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville?
For patients under 35, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 40.7% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported 54.9% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at CCRM Northern Virginia compared with Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville?
CCRM Northern Virginia's website posts $12,660 for IVF (read Oct 4, 2026) and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville's posts $11,000 (read Oct 1, 2026). The two amounts do not cover the same services, so the lower number is not necessarily the lower bill: read what each includes, and what it leaves out, before comparing them. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do CCRM Northern Virginia and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville offer IVF refund programs?
CCRM Northern Virginia offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
Which is the larger clinic, CCRM Northern Virginia or Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville?
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is the larger clinic: it reported 5,717 cycles to the CDC and CCRM Northern Virginia reported 721, about 7.9 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are CCRM Northern Virginia and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville?
CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is in Rockville, MD, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at CCRM Northern Virginia and Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville?
A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Yes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.