Head to head · San Diego area

Gen 5 Fertility Center vs Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

Two fertility clinics in the San Diego area, about 1 mile apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 15 h ago
3age bands compared
5treatments with a posted price

Gen 5 Fertility Center (San Diego, CA) and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center (San Diego, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Diego area, about 1 mile apart. For patients under 35, Gen 5 Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 9.8% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported 65.7% (CDC data for 2022). Gen 5 Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website. Reproductive Sciences Medical Center posts an IVF price of $30,000 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
65.7%Higher
35–37
–not reported by the CDC
38–40
23.1%Higher
Over 40
5.7%Higher
Cycles reported

For patients under 35, Gen 5 Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 9.8% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported 65.7% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Gen 5 Fertility Center

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

  • IVF, as its website posts it

    Published as “$30,000 up” for an own-sperm/own-egg, self-pregnancy IVF cycle package at RSMC San Diego. The clinic states that it includes one IVF cycle, laboratory facility fees, PGS genetic screening for 1–15 embryos, stimulation-medication reimbursement up to $5,000, 1–3 embryo transfers, and the first year of cryopreservation. This is an all-inclusive package rather than a standalone base-cycle fee; the page does not publish the upper end of the range. Additional eligibility, exclusions, and final pricing require inquiry/contract confirmation. Applicable clinic location listed: 3661 Valley Centre Dr., San Diego, CA 92130.

Read Sep 28, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Gen 5 Fertility Center

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

  • Two-Cycle Plus Plan

    50% of the program fee back if no ongoing pregnancy; covers up to 2 egg retrievals

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Gen 5 Fertility Center

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes monitoring and anesthesia

    On top: storage ($800 a year)

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

Gen 5 Fertility Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

  • $5,000for up to 15 embryos, then $250 per extra embryo

    PGT-A (PGS)

    Base fee from RSMC's fee guide on its site for international patients

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Gen 5 Fertility Center

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Gen 5 Fertility Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Gen 5 Fertility Center

No reciprocal IVF price or description we could confirm.

Open its page

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Gen 5 Fertility Center
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
OfferedNot offered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
No
No
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Gen 5 Fertility Center is in San Diego, CA and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center is in San Diego, CA, about 1 mile apart. Both are in the San Diego metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Gen 5 Fertility Center

3420 Carmel Mountain Rd, Suite 200, San Diego, CA 92121

Phone
(858) 267-4365
Medical director
Samuel H. Wood, MD, PHD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

3661 Valley Centre Dr, Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92130

Phone
(858) 436-7186
Medical director
Minh N. Ho, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Questions

Common questions about Gen 5 Fertility Center and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Gen 5 Fertility Center or Reproductive Sciences Medical Center?

For patients under 35, Gen 5 Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 9.8% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported 65.7% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Gen 5 Fertility Center compared with Reproductive Sciences Medical Center?

Reproductive Sciences Medical Center's website posts $30,000 for IVF (read Sep 28, 2026). Gen 5 Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Gen 5 Fertility Center and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center offer IVF refund programs?

Gen 5 Fertility Center offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails, and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

Which is the larger clinic, Gen 5 Fertility Center or Reproductive Sciences Medical Center?

Gen 5 Fertility Center is the larger clinic: it reported 310 cycles to the CDC and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported 142, about 2.2 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Gen 5 Fertility Center and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center?

Gen 5 Fertility Center is in San Diego, CA and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center is in San Diego, CA, about 1 mile apart. Both are in the San Diego metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Gen 5 Fertility Center and Reproductive Sciences Medical Center?

Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.