Poma Fertility vs Sound Fertility Care
Two fertility clinics in the Seattle area, about 10 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Poma Fertility (Kirkland, WA) and Sound Fertility Care (Seattle, WA) are fertility clinics in the Seattle area, about 10 miles apart. For patients under 35, Poma Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 64.4% per intended egg retrieval and Sound Fertility Care reported 41.0% (CDC data for 2022). Poma Fertility posts an IVF price of $15,300 on its website. Sound Fertility Care posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Poma Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 64.4% per intended egg retrieval and Sound Fertility Care reported 41.0% (CDC data for 2022). Poma Fertility reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Poma Fertility
IVF
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing and embryo storage (1 year)
Billed on top: medications, a frozen embryo transfer ($4,300 or $4,200 with eCheck discount), PGT genetic testing and pre-cycle testing
Not stated on its page: anesthesia, ICSI and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Sound Fertility Care
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 28, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workPoma Fertility
POMACare IVF Refund Program: POMACare Standard IVF Cycle Package
90% of the program fee back if treatment fails; covers up to 1 egg retrieval; medications extra
POMACare IVF Refund Program: POMACare Frozen Egg Bank IVF Cycle Package
90% of the program fee back if treatment fails; medications extra
POMACare IVF Refund Program: POMACare Fresh Egg Bank IVF Cycle Package
90% of the program fee back if treatment fails; medications extra
Read Oct 6, 2026. 1 more on its page
Sound Fertility Care
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsPoma Fertility
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring and 1 year of storage, then $720 a year
On top: medications
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsPoma Fertility
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes monitoring, ultrasounds and bloodwork
Medications not included
$4,200 paid by eCheck
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsPoma Fertility
IVF freeze-all with embryo biopsy
Covers the biopsy; the lab bills the test
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Poma Fertility
- $1,000a cycle
IUI
Includes the insemination, all cycle monitoring ultrasounds and sperm preparation
The same page also lists IUI at $990
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsPoma Fertility
- Egg freezing, $8,420
Includes the first year of storage
$8,230 paid by eCheck
- IVF freeze-all cycle, $13,400
Includes the first year of storage
$13,100 paid by eCheck
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsSound Fertility Care
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Poma Fertility is in Kirkland, WA and Sound Fertility Care is in Seattle, WA, about 10 miles apart. Both are in the Seattle metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Poma Fertility
12039 N.E. 128th St, Suite 110, Kirkland, WA 98034
- Phone
- (425) 822-7662
- Medical director
- Ronald Beesley, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Sound Fertility Care
509 Olive Way, Suite 501, Seattle, WA 98101
- Phone
- (206) 651-4432
- Medical director
- Kathleen Lin, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- Washington: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Washington law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Washington's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Seattle clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Poma Fertility or Sound Fertility Care?
For patients under 35, Poma Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 64.4% per intended egg retrieval and Sound Fertility Care reported 41.0% (CDC data for 2022). Poma Fertility reported the higher rate in all 3 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Poma Fertility compared with Sound Fertility Care?
Poma Fertility's website posts $15,300 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Sound Fertility Care posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 28, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care offer IVF refund programs?
Poma Fertility offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Sound Fertility Care offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 72.7% at Poma Fertility and 48.1% at Sound Fertility Care had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
How do Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Poma Fertility's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 46.7% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Sound Fertility Care (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Poma Fertility or Sound Fertility Care?
Poma Fertility is the larger clinic: it reported 408 cycles to the CDC and Sound Fertility Care reported 129, about 3.2 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care?
Poma Fertility is in Kirkland, WA and Sound Fertility Care is in Seattle, WA, about 10 miles apart. Both are in the Seattle metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Poma Fertility and Sound Fertility Care?
No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Washington law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.