Does Block cover IVF?
What Block publishes about fertility benefits for its US employees, in its own words, with the page each statement is on.
- Benefit pages read · checked 16 h ago
Block says it offers fertility benefits to eligible US employees, but its public pages do not say whether IVF is included or how much is covered. Block does not say on its public pages whether part-time workers qualify (its benefits sheet is for full-time US employees, and fertility assistance is for those enrolled in an Aetna plan). The benefit is run by Progyny.
What Block says it covers
Read on Oct 11, 2026. The words in quotation marks are the source's own.
Fertility treatment is covered; IVF is not named
“We partner with Progyny to provide fertility assistance for those enrolled in an Aetna plan, and surrogacy support and adoption assistance for all employees, regardless of their medical enrollment status.”
Block does not state a dollar or cycle limit on its public pages. That does not mean the benefit is unlimited: the limit is in the plan document its benefits center can send you.
Run by Progyny
Progyny administers the fertility benefit for Block, so it is the one to call about which clinics are in network and what needs approval first.
“We partner with Progyny to provide fertility assistance for those”
Can part-time Block workers use it?
Eligibility decides whether a benefit is worth taking a job for, so this is the line to confirm before anything else.
Block does not say on its public pages whether part-time workers qualify (its benefits sheet is for full-time US employees, and fertility assistance is for those enrolled in an Aetna plan).
You have to be enrolled in a Block medical plan to use the benefit, so its premiums and deductible are part of what the coverage costs you.
“Benefits Highlights for Full-Time U.S. Employees”
Six things to ask Block before you count on it
A public benefits page is a summary. The plan document for your own plan and location is what the plan pays by.
- 1.What is the lifetime maximum, and do fertility drugs count toward it or have their own limit?
- 2.When does coverage start after my hire date, and how many hours a week do I need to keep it?
- 3.Do I need an infertility diagnosis, or prior authorization, before treatment is covered?
- 4.Which fertility clinics near me are in network, and what do I pay if mine is not?
- 5.What are the deductible, the coinsurance and the out-of-pocket maximum on the plan the benefit sits in?
- 6.Are egg freezing, donor eggs or sperm, genetic testing of embryos and embryo storage covered?
State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. A large employer's plan is usually self-funded (80% of covered workers at large firms are in one), so what Block chooses to cover matters more than your state's IVF insurance law.
Block and IVF: common questions
Does Block cover IVF?
Block says it offers fertility benefits to eligible US employees, but its public pages do not say whether IVF is included or how much is covered. Block does not say on its public pages whether part-time workers qualify (its benefits sheet is for full-time US employees, and fertility assistance is for those enrolled in an Aetna plan). The benefit is run by Progyny. Read on Block's own benefit pages on Oct 11, 2026.
How much fertility treatment does Block cover?
Block does not state a dollar or cycle limit on its public pages. Ask its benefits center for the lifetime maximum and whether fertility drugs count toward it. For comparison, one IVF cycle in the US typically costs $25,000 to $32,000 all in.
Does Block cover IVF for part-time employees?
Block does not say on its public pages whether part-time workers qualify (its benefits sheet is for full-time US employees, and fertility assistance is for those enrolled in an Aetna plan). You have to be enrolled in a Block medical plan to use it. Eligibility rules are the first thing to confirm with Block before you count on the benefit.
How do I confirm what Block covers?
Ask Block's benefits center or Progyny for the plan document (the summary plan description) for your own plan and location, and check the lifetime maximum, whether fertility drugs count toward it, whether a diagnosis or prior authorization is needed, and when coverage starts after you are hired. Benefits change each plan year, usually on January 1.