Employer fertility benefits · Food and restaurants

Does Starbucks cover IVF?

What Starbucks publishes about fertility benefits for its US employees, in its own words, with the page each statement is on.

Benefit pages read · checked 16 h ago
YesIVF covered
Yespart-time workers

Yes. Starbucks says it covers IVF for eligible US employees, but its public pages do not state a dollar or cycle limit. Part-time workers can qualify: part-time partners become benefits eligible after at least 240 paid hours over three consecutive months, and keep eligibility with at least 520 hours in each six-month period. Starbucks does not publish a dollar or cycle limit for fertility treatment. The $25,000 and $10,000 figures often repeated online are not on any current Starbucks page we read. The IVF statement is a partner's account that Starbucks published on its own benefits page; its benefits site says only that partners enrolled in a Starbucks medical plan may be eligible for fertility benefits.

The benefit

What Starbucks says it covers

Read on Oct 11, 2026. The words in quotation marks are the source's own.

IVF is covered

“One of the benefits we have used is coverage for IVF. Having that coverage through our medical plan made a life-changing difference.”
Starbucks: About Starbucks: Partners (employees), partner story "Having access to coverage for IVF made a life-changing difference for my family" by Junior A., coffeehouse leader

Starbucks does not state a dollar or cycle limit on its public pages. That does not mean the benefit is unlimited: the limit is in the plan document its benefits center can send you.

Adoption and surrogacy

Starbucks says its Family Expansion Reimbursement pays qualifying adoption and surrogacy expenses up to a lifetime maximum of $40,000 per partner.

“You can be reimbursed for qualifying expenses up to a lifetime maximum of $40,000 per partner (if you and your spouse or domestic partner are both Starbucks partners, you may only submit each expense once).”
Starbucks: Starbucks Benefits: Family Expansion Reimbursement Assistance
Who qualifies

Can part-time Starbucks workers use it?

Eligibility decides whether a benefit is worth taking a job for, so this is the line to confirm before anything else.

Part-time workers can qualify: part-time partners become benefits eligible after at least 240 paid hours over three consecutive months, and keep eligibility with at least 520 hours in each six-month period.

You have to be enrolled in a Starbucks medical plan to use the benefit, so its premiums and deductible are part of what the coverage costs you.

“If you are enrolled in a Starbucks medical plan, you may be eligible for fertility benefits.”
Starbucks: Starbucks Benefits: Parenting Resources
“Part-time partners, U.S. mainland You establish initial benefits eligibility the first day of the second month after receiving at least 240 total hours over three full, consecutive months.”
Starbucks: Starbucks Benefits: Benefits Eligibility
“To continue eligibility, you must have at least 520 total hours on paychecks received between the first and last days in each six-month measurement period, for semi-annual audits on January 6 and July 6.”
Starbucks: Starbucks Benefits: Benefits Eligibility
Confirm it yourself

Six things to ask Starbucks before you count on it

A public benefits page is a summary. The plan document for your own plan and location is what the plan pays by.

  1. 1.What is the lifetime maximum, and do fertility drugs count toward it or have their own limit?
  2. 2.When does coverage start after my hire date, and how many hours a week do I need to keep it?
  3. 3.Do I need an infertility diagnosis, or prior authorization, before treatment is covered?
  4. 4.Which fertility clinics near me are in network, and what do I pay if mine is not?
  5. 5.What are the deductible, the coinsurance and the out-of-pocket maximum on the plan the benefit sits in?
  6. 6.Are egg freezing, donor eggs or sperm, genetic testing of embryos and embryo storage covered?

State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF. A large employer's plan is usually self-funded (80% of covered workers at large firms are in one), so what Starbucks chooses to cover matters more than your state's IVF insurance law.

Questions

Starbucks and IVF: common questions

Does Starbucks cover IVF?

Yes. Starbucks says it covers IVF for eligible US employees, but its public pages do not state a dollar or cycle limit. Part-time workers can qualify: part-time partners become benefits eligible after at least 240 paid hours over three consecutive months, and keep eligibility with at least 520 hours in each six-month period. Read on Starbucks' own benefit pages on Oct 11, 2026.

How much IVF does Starbucks cover?

Starbucks does not state a dollar or cycle limit on its public pages. Ask its benefits center for the lifetime maximum and whether fertility drugs count toward it. For comparison, one IVF cycle in the US typically costs $25,000 to $32,000 all in.

Does Starbucks cover IVF for part-time employees?

Part-time workers can qualify: part-time partners become benefits eligible after at least 240 paid hours over three consecutive months, and keep eligibility with at least 520 hours in each six-month period. You have to be enrolled in a Starbucks medical plan to use it. Eligibility rules are the first thing to confirm with Starbucks before you count on the benefit.

How do I confirm what Starbucks covers?

Ask Starbucks' benefits center for the plan document (the summary plan description) for your own plan and location, and check the lifetime maximum, whether fertility drugs count toward it, whether a diagnosis or prior authorization is needed, and when coverage starts after you are hired. Benefits change each plan year, usually on January 1.

The pages this comes from
Go further
Other employers in food and restaurants
This is what Starbucks' public benefit pages stated on Oct 11, 2026. Benefits differ by plan, location and union contract and change each plan year, so confirm yours with Starbucks before you make a job or treatment decision. IVFcost.co is not affiliated with Starbucks; its name is used only to identify the employer. Informational only, not medical advice. Success rates vary by individual; confirm with a clinician.