Head to head · New York City area

Columbia University Fertility Center vs Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Two fertility clinics in the New York City area, about 33 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 15 h ago
4age bands compared
3treatments with a posted price

Columbia University Fertility Center (New York, NY) and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey (Basking Ridge, NJ) are fertility clinics in the New York City area, about 33 miles apart. For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey reported 60.8% (CDC data for 2022). Columbia University Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website. Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey posts an IVF price of $14,750 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey reported 60.8% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Columbia University Fertility Center

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

  • IVF, as its website posts it

    RMA's official website states that an IVF cycle, defined there as retrieval and transfer, costs approximately $14,750. The page does not specify whether medications, monitoring, anesthesia, laboratory fees, embryo cryopreservation, or PGT are included or excluded. This is an approximate RMA figure rather than a dated, patient-specific fee schedule; the page identifies Basking Ridge, New Jersey as RMA's flagship center. RMA's current Basking Ridge page says exact costs vary by treatment center, services bundled, and insurance coverage, and directs patients to a financial coordinator for individualized pricing.

Read Oct 1, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Columbia University Fertility Center

Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).

Open its page

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Columbia University Fertility Center

  • One egg freezing cycle

    On top: anesthesia

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Columbia University Fertility Center

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Columbia University Fertility Center

No reciprocal IVF price or description we could confirm.

Open its page

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Columbia University Fertility Center
Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
OfferedOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Columbia University Fertility Center is in New York, NY and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey is in Basking Ridge, NJ, about 33 miles apart. Both are in the New York City metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Columbia University Fertility Center

5 Columbus Cir, PH Floor, New York, NY 10019

Phone
(646) 756-8282
Medical director
Eric J. Forman, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

140 Allen Rd, Basking Ridge, NJ 07920

Phone
(973) 971-4600
Medical director
Michael R. Drews, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • New York: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: New York requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. New York's full answer
  • New Jersey: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: New Jersey requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. New Jersey's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Questions

Common questions about Columbia University Fertility Center and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Columbia University Fertility Center or Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey?

For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey reported 60.8% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Columbia University Fertility Center compared with Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey?

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey's website posts $14,750 for IVF (read Oct 1, 2026). Columbia University Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Columbia University Fertility Center and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey offer IVF refund programs?

Columbia University Fertility Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website, and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

Which is the larger clinic, Columbia University Fertility Center or Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey?

Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey is the larger clinic: it reported 4,583 cycles to the CDC and Columbia University Fertility Center reported 1,571, about 2.9 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Columbia University Fertility Center and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey?

Columbia University Fertility Center is in New York, NY and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey is in Basking Ridge, NJ, about 33 miles apart. Both are in the New York City metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Columbia University Fertility Center and Reproductive Medicine Associates of New Jersey?

A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. Yes, for many plans: New York requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Yes, for many plans: New Jersey requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.