Head to head · Washington, DC area

Genetics & IVF Institute vs Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 12 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
3age bands compared
1treatment with a posted price

Genetics & IVF Institute (Fairfax, VA) and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed (Bethesda, MD) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 12 miles apart. For patients under 35, Genetics & IVF Institute reported a live-birth rate of 43.5% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported 50.0% (CDC data for 2022). Genetics & IVF Institute posts no IVF price on its website. Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
50.0%Higher
35–37
45.2%Higher
38–40
28.0%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, Genetics & IVF Institute reported a live-birth rate of 43.5% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported 50.0% (CDC data for 2022). Genetics & IVF Institute reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40, and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed for patients under 35 and 35 to 37. Genetics & IVF Institute reported 97 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Genetics & IVF Institute
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Under 35
–60.0%
35–37
–52.2%
38–40
–19.4%
Over 40
–0.0%

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
Genetics & IVF Institute
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
52.4%–
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Genetics & IVF Institute

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 28, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Genetics & IVF Institute

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Genetics & IVF Institute

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Genetics & IVF Institute

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Genetics & IVF Institute

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Genetics & IVF Institute
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Donor egg services
OfferedNot offered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredNot offered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedNot offered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Genetics & IVF Institute is in Fairfax, VA and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD, about 12 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Genetics & IVF Institute

3015 Williams Dr, Fairfax, VA 22031

Phone
(703) 698-3912
Medical director
Laurence C. Udoff, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

8901 Rockville Pike, Bldg 10, Rm 2104, Bethesda, MD 20889

Phone
(301) 400-2151
Medical director
Micah J. Hill, DO
CDC status
Reorganized
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer
  • Maryland: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Maryland's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Washington, DC clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Genetics & IVF Institute with
Compare Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed with
Questions

Common questions about Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Genetics & IVF Institute or Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

For patients under 35, Genetics & IVF Institute reported a live-birth rate of 43.5% per intended egg retrieval and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported 50.0% (CDC data for 2022). Genetics & IVF Institute reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40, and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed for patients under 35 and 35 to 37. Genetics & IVF Institute reported 97 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Genetics & IVF Institute compared with Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

Neither Genetics & IVF Institute nor Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed posts an IVF price on its website, so both prices come from a quote, usually after a consultation. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Ask what each quote covers: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately.

Do Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed offer IVF refund programs?

Genetics & IVF Institute offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 60.0% at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Genetics & IVF Institute at that age.

How do Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed compare for donor egg IVF?

Of Genetics & IVF Institute's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 52.4% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, Genetics & IVF Institute or Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is the larger clinic: it reported 277 cycles to the CDC and Genetics & IVF Institute reported 97, about 2.9 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

Genetics & IVF Institute is in Fairfax, VA and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD, about 12 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Genetics & IVF Institute and Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed?

A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Yes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.