Head to head · Washington, DC area

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed vs Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
2age bands compared
3treatments with a posted price

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed (Bethesda, MD) and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (Reston, VA) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 45.2% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed posts no IVF price on its website. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
–not reported by the CDC
35–37
45.2%Higher
38–40
15.3%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 45.2% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Under 35
60.0%–
35–37
52.2%–
38–40
19.4%–
Over 40
0.0%–
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • 100% IVF Refund Plan

    100% of the program fee back if no live birth; medications extra

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes 1 year of storage

    On top: medications

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Donor egg services
Not offeredOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
Not offeredOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed

8901 Rockville Pike, Bldg 10, Rm 2104, Bethesda, MD 20889

Phone
(301) 400-2151
Medical director
Micah J. Hill, DO
CDC status
Reorganized
Open its full record

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

11150 Sunset Hills Rd, Suite 100, Reston, VA 20190

Phone
(703) 437-7722
Medical director
Fady I. Sharara, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Maryland: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Maryland's full answer
  • Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Washington, DC clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed with
Compare Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine with
Questions

Common questions about Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 45.2% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed compared with Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Neither Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed nor Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts an IVF price on its website, so both prices come from a quote, usually after a consultation. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Ask what each quote covers: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately.

Do Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offer IVF refund programs?

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 60.0% at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine at that age.

Which is the larger clinic, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is the larger clinic: it reported 277 cycles to the CDC and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81, about 3.4 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. Yes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.