Head to head · Washington, DC area

Dominion Fertility vs Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
2age bands compared
5treatments with a posted price

Dominion Fertility (Arlington, VA) and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (Reston, VA) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. For patients 35 to 37, Dominion Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 34.1% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Dominion Fertility posts no IVF price on its website. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
–not reported by the CDC
35–37
34.1%Higher
38–40
13.9%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients 35 to 37, Dominion Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 34.1% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Dominion Fertility reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Dominion Fertility
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Under 35
51.1%–
35–37
44.9%–
38–40
26.3%–
Over 40
6.5%–

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
Dominion Fertility
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
33.8%–
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Dominion Fertility

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 3, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Dominion Fertility

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • 100% IVF Refund Plan

    100% of the program fee back if no live birth; medications extra

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Dominion Fertility

  • Limited-time package

    Includes medications, monitoring, anesthesia and 6 months of storage

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes 1 year of storage

    On top: medications

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

Dominion Fertility

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    Medications not included

    The clinic's estimate

    For Virginia, from the price estimator on Pinnacle's own pricing page

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

Dominion Fertility

  • $11,630for up to 4 embryos

    IVF, FET and PGT-A package

    Covers the biopsy and the lab test

    A limited-time all-inclusive offer at its Arlington, Virginia location

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Dominion Fertility

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Dominion Fertility

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Dominion Fertility

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Dominion Fertility
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
OfferedOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Dominion Fertility is in Arlington, VA and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Dominion Fertility

4040 N. Fairfax Dr, Suite 600, Arlington, VA 22203

Phone
(703) 920-3890
Medical director
Michael DiMattina, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

11150 Sunset Hills Rd, Suite 100, Reston, VA 20190

Phone
(703) 437-7722
Medical director
Fady I. Sharara, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Washington, DC clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Dominion Fertility with
Compare Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine with
Questions

Common questions about Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Dominion Fertility or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients 35 to 37, Dominion Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 34.1% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Dominion Fertility reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Dominion Fertility compared with Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Neither Dominion Fertility nor Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts an IVF price on its website, so both prices come from a quote, usually after a consultation. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Ask what each quote covers: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately.

Do Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offer IVF refund programs?

Dominion Fertility names a refund program on its website without posting its terms, and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 51.1% at Dominion Fertility had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine at that age.

How do Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine compare for donor egg IVF?

Of Dominion Fertility's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 33.8% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, Dominion Fertility or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Dominion Fertility is the larger clinic: it reported 783 cycles to the CDC and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81, about 9.7 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

Dominion Fertility is in Arlington, VA and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Dominion Fertility and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.