Head to head · Washington, DC area

CCRM Northern Virginia vs Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 6 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
2age bands compared
7treatments with a posted price

CCRM Northern Virginia (Vienna, VA) and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (Reston, VA) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 6 miles apart. For patients 35 to 37, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 35.4% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia posts an IVF price of $12,660 on its website. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
–not reported by the CDC
35–37
35.4%Higher
38–40
20.3%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients 35 to 37, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 35.4% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
CCRM Northern Virginia
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Under 35
56.6%–
35–37
46.9%–
38–40
24.6%–
Over 40
9.3%–

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
CCRM Northern Virginia
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
39.4%–
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Low end of a range up to $30,780

    The page does not say what this amount covers

    Not stated on its page: medications, monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

    CCRM's national financing page, not specific to this location.

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Assure - IVF Refund Program

    100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 3 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 39

    Price not posted

  • CCRM Multi-Cycle IVF Program

    A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 40

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • 100% IVF Refund Plan

    100% of the program fee back if no live birth; medications extra

    Price not posted

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes 1 year of storage

    On top: medications

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    CCRM's network-wide price

    The clinic's estimate

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    Covers the biopsy and the lab test

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

  • Natural cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market); this location's own page states no IUI figure

  • Stimulated cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market)

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

CCRM Northern Virginia

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

CCRM Northern Virginia

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
CCRM Northern Virginia
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 6 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

CCRM Northern Virginia

8010 Towers Crescent Dr, 5th Floor, Vienna, VA 22182

Phone
(571) 789-2100
Medical director
Mark D. Payson, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

11150 Sunset Hills Rd, Suite 100, Reston, VA 20190

Phone
(703) 437-7722
Medical director
Fady I. Sharara, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Washington, DC clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare CCRM Northern Virginia with
Compare Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine with
Questions

Common questions about CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine

Which has the higher IVF success rate, CCRM Northern Virginia or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients 35 to 37, CCRM Northern Virginia reported a live-birth rate of 35.4% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). CCRM Northern Virginia reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at CCRM Northern Virginia compared with Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

CCRM Northern Virginia's website posts $12,660 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offer IVF refund programs?

CCRM Northern Virginia offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 56.6% at CCRM Northern Virginia had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine at that age.

How do CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine compare for donor egg IVF?

Of CCRM Northern Virginia's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 39.4% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, CCRM Northern Virginia or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

CCRM Northern Virginia is the larger clinic: it reported 721 cycles to the CDC and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81, about 8.9 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

CCRM Northern Virginia is in Vienna, VA and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 6 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at CCRM Northern Virginia and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?

No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.