Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville vs Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville (Rockville, MD) and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (Reston, VA) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported a live-birth rate of 39.0% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville posts an IVF price of $11,000 on its website. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported a live-birth rate of 39.0% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Single Cycle IVF Program, the clinic's estimate
Includes an embryo transfer
Billed on top: embryo freezing ($1,700), embryo storage ($60 per month), a frozen embryo transfer ($5,000) and PGT genetic testing
Not stated on its page: medications, monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching
From Shady Grove Fertility's network-wide financial guide dated July 2022, which calls its prices estimates at the time.
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workShady Grove Fertility-Rockville
- Shared Risk 100% Refund Program for Frozen Embryo Transfers (FET)
100% of the program fee back if no pregnancy
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
- 100% IVF Refund Plan
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; medications extra
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsShady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
One egg freezing cycle
Includes 1 year of storage
On top: medications
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsVirginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
- Egg freezing cycle, $9,000
Includes the first year of storage
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsShady Grove Fertility-Rockville
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is in Rockville, MD and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville
9601 Blackwell Rd, 4th Floor, Rockville, MD 20850
- Phone
- (301) 340-1188
- Medical director
- Michael J. Levy, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
11150 Sunset Hills Rd, Suite 100, Reston, VA 20190
- Phone
- (703) 437-7722
- Medical director
- Fady I. Sharara, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- Maryland: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Maryland's full answer
- Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Washington, DC clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
For patients 35 to 37, Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported a live-birth rate of 39.0% per intended egg retrieval and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 23.8% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville compared with Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville's website posts $11,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 25, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offer IVF refund programs?
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 68.7% at Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine at that age.
How do Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 42.7% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville or Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is the larger clinic: it reported 5,717 cycles to the CDC and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine reported 81, about 71 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville is in Rockville, MD and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine is in Reston, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Shady Grove Fertility-Rockville and Virginia Center for Reproductive Medicine?
A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. Yes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.