Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed vs Washington Fertility Center
Two fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed (Bethesda, MD) and Washington Fertility Center (Annandale, VA) are fertility clinics in the Washington, DC area, about 13 miles apart. For patients under 35, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 50.0% per intended egg retrieval and Washington Fertility Center reported 40.0% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed posts no IVF price on its website. Washington Fertility Center posts an IVF price of $20,900 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 50.0% per intended egg retrieval and Washington Fertility Center reported 40.0% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and Washington Fertility Center for patients 38 to 40. Washington Fertility Center reported 78 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Washington Fertility Center
IVF Single Cycle
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture, a frozen embryo transfer and assisted hatching
Billed on top: medications (approx. $3,000 - $6,000 / cycle), anesthesia ($690), ICSI ($1,990), embryo freezing ($1,900), embryo storage ($900 / year) and PGT genetic testing ($2,900)
Not stated on its page: an embryo transfer and pre-cycle testing
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workShady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
- Shared Risk 100% Refund Program for IVF
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 6 egg retrievals; enrollment up to age 40; medications extra
Price not posted
- Multi-Cycle Discount Program for IVF
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Washington Fertility Center
IVF Baby Guarantee or Your Money Back Plan
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 6 egg retrievals; medications extra
Single Donor Egg Cycle Baby Guarantee
A refund if no live birth (amount not posted); covers up to 1 egg retrieval
Six Donor Egg Cycle Baby Guarantee
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 6 egg retrievals
Read Oct 6, 2026. 1 more on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsShady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).
Washington Fertility Center
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring
On top: medications, anesthesia and storage ($900 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsWashington Fertility Center
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes monitoring, the thaw, assisted hatching and the transfer
Medications about $690 to $1,000 more
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsWashington Fertility Center
Embryo biopsy and PGT-A
Covers the biopsy and the lab test
Listed with its single IVF cycle for patients without fertility insurance
Embryo biopsy
In its limited-time Affordable IVF Program
- $985for up to 6 embryos, then $150 per extra embryo
PGT-A testing
In its limited-time Affordable IVF Program, beside the biopsy fee
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Washington Fertility Center
- $1,495a cycle
Natural IUI (no stimulation)
Includes monitoring, sperm wash and insemination
On top: medications (about $150 a cycle)
- $2,295a cycle
IUI with letrozole or clomiphene
Includes monitoring, sperm wash and insemination
On top: medications (about $160 to $200 a cycle)
- $2,495a cycle
IUI with gonadotropin injections
Includes monitoring, sperm wash and insemination
On top: medications (about $1,000 to $2,000 a cycle)
Read Oct 8, 2026. 1 more on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsWashington Fertility Center
- $900a year
Embryo storage
- $900a year
Egg storage
One yearly fee for frozen embryos, sperm or eggs
- $900a year
Sperm storage
One yearly fee for frozen embryos, sperm or eggs
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsShady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD and Washington Fertility Center is in Annandale, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed
8901 Rockville Pike, Bldg 10, Rm 2104, Bethesda, MD 20889
- Phone
- (301) 400-2151
- Medical director
- Micah J. Hill, DO
- CDC status
- Reorganized
Washington Fertility Center
4316 Evergreen Ln, Annandale, VA 22003
- Phone
- (703) 658-3100
- Medical director
- Pierre Asmar, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- Maryland: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Maryland's full answer
- Virginia: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Virginia's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Washington, DC clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed or Washington Fertility Center?
For patients under 35, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported a live-birth rate of 50.0% per intended egg retrieval and Washington Fertility Center reported 40.0% (CDC data for 2022). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and Washington Fertility Center for patients 38 to 40. Washington Fertility Center reported 78 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed compared with Washington Fertility Center?
Washington Fertility Center's website posts $20,900 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center offer IVF refund programs?
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Washington Fertility Center offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 60.0% at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Washington Fertility Center at that age.
How do Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Washington Fertility Center's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 33.3% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed or Washington Fertility Center?
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is the larger clinic: it reported 277 cycles to the CDC and Washington Fertility Center reported 78, about 3.6 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center?
Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed is in Bethesda, MD and Washington Fertility Center is in Annandale, VA, about 13 miles apart. Both are in the Washington, DC metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Shady Grove Fertility-Walter Reed and Washington Fertility Center?
A state's insurance law reaches plans issued in that state, so which one applies depends on where your plan is issued (usually your employer's state), not where the clinic is. Yes, for many plans: Maryland requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Virginia law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.