Head to head · Stamford and Bridgeport area

Illume Fertility vs New England Fertility Institute

Two fertility clinics in the Stamford and Bridgeport area, about 9 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 15 h ago
2age bands compared
5treatments with a posted price

Illume Fertility (Norwalk, CT) and New England Fertility Institute (Stamford, CT) are fertility clinics in the Stamford and Bridgeport area, about 9 miles apart. For patients 38 to 40, Illume Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 23.9% per intended egg retrieval and New England Fertility Institute reported 9.1% (CDC data for 2022). Illume Fertility posts no IVF price on its website. New England Fertility Institute posts an IVF price of $16,000 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
–not reported by the CDC
35–37
–not reported by the CDC
38–40
23.9%Higher
Over 40
8.0%Higher
Cycles reported

For patients 38 to 40, Illume Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 23.9% per intended egg retrieval and New England Fertility Institute reported 9.1% (CDC data for 2022). Illume Fertility reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. New England Fertility Institute reported 72 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Illume Fertility

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

New England Fertility Institute

  • IVF, as its website posts it

    New England Fertility Institute’s Stamford, Connecticut pricing page states that a single IVF cycle can start at $16,000. The page does not specify which services are included or excluded, whether medications, anesthesia, PGT, embryo freezing/storage, or other ancillary services are covered, nor does it provide a dated fee schedule or payment/eligibility requirements. The page identifies the clinic at 1275 Summer Street, Suite 201, Stamford, CT 06905.

Read Sep 26, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Illume Fertility

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

New England Fertility Institute

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Illume Fertility

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

New England Fertility Institute

  • One egg freezing cycle

    Includes monitoring

    On top: medications and storage ($700 a year)

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Illume Fertility

Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).

Open its page

New England Fertility Institute

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Illume Fertility

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

New England Fertility Institute

  • $700a year

    Egg storage

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Illume Fertility

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

New England Fertility Institute

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Illume Fertility
New England Fertility Institute
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
OfferedOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Illume Fertility is in Norwalk, CT and New England Fertility Institute is in Stamford, CT, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the Stamford and Bridgeport metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Illume Fertility

761 Main Ave, Suite 200, Norwalk, CT 06851

Phone
(203) 750-7400
Medical director
Mark P. Leondires, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

New England Fertility Institute

1275 Summer St, Suite 201, Stamford, CT 06905

Phone
(203) 325-3200
Medical director
Gad Lavy, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Connecticut: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: Connecticut requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Connecticut's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Questions

Common questions about Illume Fertility and New England Fertility Institute

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Illume Fertility or New England Fertility Institute?

For patients 38 to 40, Illume Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 23.9% per intended egg retrieval and New England Fertility Institute reported 9.1% (CDC data for 2022). Illume Fertility reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. New England Fertility Institute reported 72 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Illume Fertility compared with New England Fertility Institute?

New England Fertility Institute's website posts $16,000 for IVF (read Sep 26, 2026). Illume Fertility posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Illume Fertility and New England Fertility Institute offer IVF refund programs?

Illume Fertility offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and New England Fertility Institute names a refund program on its website without posting its terms (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

Which is the larger clinic, Illume Fertility or New England Fertility Institute?

Illume Fertility is the larger clinic: it reported 1,511 cycles to the CDC and New England Fertility Institute reported 72, about 21 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Illume Fertility and New England Fertility Institute?

Illume Fertility is in Norwalk, CT and New England Fertility Institute is in Stamford, CT, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the Stamford and Bridgeport metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Illume Fertility and New England Fertility Institute?

Yes, for many plans: Connecticut requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Fully-insured plans must cover infertility treatment for people covered for at least 12 months, including up to two IVF cycles, four cycles of ovulation induction and three of IUI over a lifetime. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is covered when a medically necessary treatment may cause infertility. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.