Head to head · Philadelphia area

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine vs Penn Fertility Care

Two fertility clinics in the Philadelphia area, about 2 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
2age bands compared
5treatments with a posted price

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine (Philadelphia, PA) and Penn Fertility Care (Philadelphia, PA) are fertility clinics in the Philadelphia area, about 2 miles apart. For patients under 35, Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported a live-birth rate of 40.0% per intended egg retrieval and Penn Fertility Care reported 52.8% (CDC data for 2022). Society Hill Reproductive Medicine posts no IVF price on its website. Penn Fertility Care posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
52.8%Higher
35–37
–not reported by the CDC
38–40
22.3%Higher
Over 40
–not reported by the CDC
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported a live-birth rate of 40.0% per intended egg retrieval and Penn Fertility Care reported 52.8% (CDC data for 2022). Penn Fertility Care reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported 65 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Society Hill Reproductive Medicine
Penn Fertility Care
Under 35
–63.9%
35–37
–56.7%
38–40
–34.0%
Over 40
–12.1%

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
Society Hill Reproductive Medicine
Penn Fertility Care
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
–41.9%
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 3, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Penn Fertility Care

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 2, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Penn Fertility Care

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Penn Fertility Care

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    CCRM's network-wide price

    The clinic's estimate

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

Penn Fertility Care

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

  • IVF freeze-all cycle with biopsy and PGT-A

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    Covers the biopsy and the lab test

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Penn Fertility Care

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

  • Natural cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market); this location's own page states no IUI figure

  • Stimulated cycle IUI

    CCRM's network-wide estimate

    On top: the initial consultation ($100 to $559, testing not included)

    CCRM's network-wide estimate (prices vary by market)

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Penn Fertility Care

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

Penn Fertility Care

No reciprocal IVF price or description we could confirm.

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Society Hill Reproductive Medicine
Penn Fertility Care
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
OfferedOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine is in Philadelphia, PA and Penn Fertility Care is in Philadelphia, PA, about 2 miles apart. Both are in the Philadelphia metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine

822 Pine St, Suite 4B, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Phone
(215) 829-8110
Medical director
Maureen P. Kelly, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Penn Fertility Care

3701 Market St, Suite 800, Philadelphia, PA 19104

Phone
(215) 662-6100
Medical director
Clarisa R. Gracia, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • Pennsylvania: No state lawNo state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Pennsylvania law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. Pennsylvania's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Philadelphia clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Society Hill Reproductive Medicine with
Compare Penn Fertility Care with
Questions

Common questions about Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Society Hill Reproductive Medicine or Penn Fertility Care?

For patients under 35, Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported a live-birth rate of 40.0% per intended egg retrieval and Penn Fertility Care reported 52.8% (CDC data for 2022). Penn Fertility Care reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported 65 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Society Hill Reproductive Medicine compared with Penn Fertility Care?

Neither Society Hill Reproductive Medicine nor Penn Fertility Care posts an IVF price on its website, so both prices come from a quote, usually after a consultation. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Ask what each quote covers: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately.

Do Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care offer IVF refund programs?

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails, and Penn Fertility Care offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 63.9% at Penn Fertility Care had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Society Hill Reproductive Medicine at that age.

How do Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care compare for donor egg IVF?

Of Penn Fertility Care's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 41.9% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Society Hill Reproductive Medicine (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, Society Hill Reproductive Medicine or Penn Fertility Care?

Penn Fertility Care is the larger clinic: it reported 831 cycles to the CDC and Society Hill Reproductive Medicine reported 65, about 13 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care?

Society Hill Reproductive Medicine is in Philadelphia, PA and Penn Fertility Care is in Philadelphia, PA, about 2 miles apart. Both are in the Philadelphia metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Society Hill Reproductive Medicine and Penn Fertility Care?

No state law requires it: RESOLVE, the national infertility association, lists no Pennsylvania law requiring insurers to cover IVF, infertility treatment or fertility preservation. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.