CARE Fertility vs UCLA Fertility Center
Two fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 14 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
CARE Fertility (Glendale, CA) and UCLA Fertility Center (Santa Monica, CA) are fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 14 miles apart. For patients under 35, CARE Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 35.9% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). CARE Fertility posts an IVF price of $11,950 on its website. UCLA Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, CARE Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 35.9% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). UCLA Fertility Center reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
CARE Fertility
CARE IVF Package
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage (1 Year) and assisted hatching
Billed on top: medications (approx. an additional $4,000), PGT genetic testing ($4,000 for up to 5 embryos) and pre-cycle testing
Not stated on its page: a frozen embryo transfer
The package covers one embryo transfer, fresh or frozen.
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
UCLA Fertility Center
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 26, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workCARE Fertility
CARE IVF Package - Two IVF Cycles
A multi-cycle package with no refund; covers up to 2 egg retrievals; medications extra
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
UCLA Fertility Center
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsCARE Fertility
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring, anesthesia and 1 year of storage, then $800 a year
On top: medications
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsCARE Fertility
Frozen embryo transfer package
Includes monitoring, ultrasounds, the thaw and the transfer
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsCARE Fertility
- $4,000for up to 5 embryos
PGT-A embryo testing
Added to its CARE IVF package price
- $23,500for up to 5 embryos
CARE IVF PLUS all-inclusive package
Also includes medications up to $4,000 and an extra embryo transfer
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
CARE Fertility
- $2,750a cycle
Natural cycle IUI package
Includes office visits and ultrasounds, monitoring labs, medications up to $200 and one insemination
On top: diagnostic testing and infectious disease screening
- $3,450a cycle
IUI with oral and injectable medication (combo package)
Includes office visits and ultrasounds, monitoring labs, medications up to $700 and one insemination
On top: diagnostic testing and infectious disease screening
- $3,950a cycle
IUI with injectable medication (package)
Includes office visits and ultrasounds, monitoring labs, medications up to $1,200 and one insemination
On top: diagnostic testing and infectious disease screening
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsCARE Fertility
- CARE IVF package, $11,950
Includes the first year of storage
Medications not included
- Egg freezing, $6,500
Includes the first year of storage
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsCARE Fertility
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
CARE Fertility is in Glendale, CA and UCLA Fertility Center is in Santa Monica, CA, about 14 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
CARE Fertility
1500 E. Chevy Chase Dr, Suite 450, Glendale, CA 91206
- Phone
- (818) 230-7778
- Medical director
- Rodolfo Quintero, MD
- CDC status
- Open
UCLA Fertility Center
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1245 16th St, Suite 202, Santa Monica, CA 90404
- Phone
- (310) 825-9500
- Medical director
- Kathleen M. Brennan, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another Los Angeles clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about CARE Fertility and UCLA Fertility Center
Which has the higher IVF success rate, CARE Fertility or UCLA Fertility Center?
For patients under 35, CARE Fertility reported a live-birth rate of 35.9% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). UCLA Fertility Center reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at CARE Fertility compared with UCLA Fertility Center?
CARE Fertility's website posts $11,950 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). UCLA Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 26, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do CARE Fertility and UCLA Fertility Center offer IVF refund programs?
CARE Fertility offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails, and UCLA Fertility Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at CARE Fertility and UCLA Fertility Center?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 44.0% at CARE Fertility and 53.7% at UCLA Fertility Center had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
Which is the larger clinic, CARE Fertility or UCLA Fertility Center?
UCLA Fertility Center is the larger clinic: it reported 304 cycles to the CDC and CARE Fertility reported 236. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are CARE Fertility and UCLA Fertility Center?
CARE Fertility is in Glendale, CA and UCLA Fertility Center is in Santa Monica, CA, about 14 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at CARE Fertility and UCLA Fertility Center?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.