Head to head · Los Angeles area

Fertility Centers of Orange County vs UCLA Fertility Center

Two fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 2,457 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
4age bands compared
5treatments with a posted price

Fertility Centers of Orange County (Irvine, CA) and UCLA Fertility Center (Santa Monica, CA) are fertility clinics in the Los Angeles area, about 2,457 miles apart. For patients under 35, Fertility Centers of Orange County reported a live-birth rate of 49.3% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). Fertility Centers of Orange County posts an IVF price of $14,000 on its website. UCLA Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
49.3%Higher
35–37
42.4%Higher
38–40
28.4%Higher
Over 40
18.3%Higher
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, Fertility Centers of Orange County reported a live-birth rate of 49.3% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). Fertility Centers of Orange County reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and UCLA Fertility Center for patients 35 to 37, 38 to 40 and over 40.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Fertility Centers of Orange County
UCLA Fertility Center
Under 35
59.3%53.7%
35–37
54.8%57.8%
38–40
39.5%35.4%
Over 40
12.8%27.3%
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Fertility Centers of Orange County

  • IVF, low end of a range up to $18,000

    Billed on top: medications, a frozen embryo transfer ($3,000-$4,000) and PGT genetic testing ($3,000+)

    Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCLA Fertility Center

Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 26, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.

Open its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Fertility Centers of Orange County

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCLA Fertility Center

Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).

Open its page

Fertility Centers of Orange County

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCLA Fertility Center

Posts no egg freezing price on its website (read Oct 4, 2026).

Open its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

Fertility Centers of Orange County

  • Embryo transfer cycle

    Medications not included

    The clinic's estimate

    Listed apart from IVF

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCLA Fertility Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Fertility Centers of Orange County

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCLA Fertility Center

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Fertility Centers of Orange County
UCLA Fertility Center
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredNot offered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Fertility Centers of Orange County is in Irvine, CA and UCLA Fertility Center is in Santa Monica, CA, about 2,457 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Fertility Centers of Orange County

17875 Von Karman Ave, Suite 480, Irvine, CA 92614

Phone
(949) 387-3888
Medical director
Wayne Lin, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

UCLA Fertility Center

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 1245 16th St, Suite 202, Santa Monica, CA 90404

Phone
(310) 825-9500
Medical director
Kathleen M. Brennan, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another Los Angeles clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Fertility Centers of Orange County with
Compare UCLA Fertility Center with
Questions

Common questions about Fertility Centers of Orange County and UCLA Fertility Center

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Fertility Centers of Orange County or UCLA Fertility Center?

For patients under 35, Fertility Centers of Orange County reported a live-birth rate of 49.3% per intended egg retrieval and UCLA Fertility Center reported 42.2% (CDC data for 2022). Fertility Centers of Orange County reported the higher rate for patients under 35, and UCLA Fertility Center for patients 35 to 37, 38 to 40 and over 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Fertility Centers of Orange County compared with UCLA Fertility Center?

Fertility Centers of Orange County's website posts $14,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). UCLA Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 26, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Fertility Centers of Orange County and UCLA Fertility Center offer IVF refund programs?

Fertility Centers of Orange County offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and UCLA Fertility Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Fertility Centers of Orange County and UCLA Fertility Center?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 59.3% at Fertility Centers of Orange County and 53.7% at UCLA Fertility Center had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.

Which is the larger clinic, Fertility Centers of Orange County or UCLA Fertility Center?

Fertility Centers of Orange County is the larger clinic: it reported 364 cycles to the CDC and UCLA Fertility Center reported 304. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Fertility Centers of Orange County and UCLA Fertility Center?

Fertility Centers of Orange County is in Irvine, CA and UCLA Fertility Center is in Santa Monica, CA, about 2,457 miles apart. Both are in the Los Angeles metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Fertility Centers of Orange County and UCLA Fertility Center?

Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.