Reproductive Sciences Medical Center vs Pearl Mini IVF
Two fertility clinics in the San Diego area, about 4 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center (San Diego, CA) and Pearl Mini IVF (San Diego, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Diego area, about 4 miles apart. For patients 38 to 40, Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported a live-birth rate of 23.1% per intended egg retrieval and Pearl Mini IVF reported 10.0% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Sciences Medical Center posts an IVF price of $30,000 on its website. Pearl Mini IVF posts no IVF price on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients 38 to 40, Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported a live-birth rate of 23.1% per intended egg retrieval and Pearl Mini IVF reported 10.0% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Pearl Mini IVF reported 56 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center
IVF Own Sperm/Egg + Self-Pregnancy Cycle Package, starting price
Includes medications, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture, embryo freezing, embryo storage (first year), a frozen embryo transfer and PGT genetic testing
Not stated on its page: monitoring, anesthesia, ICSI, an embryo transfer, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching
Priced from $30,000 on a page for international patients. Medications are covered only as a reimbursement of up to $5,000; it covers 1 to 3 frozen embryo transfers.
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Pearl Mini IVF
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workReproductive Sciences Medical Center
- Two-Cycle Plus Plan
50% of the program fee back if no ongoing pregnancy; covers up to 2 egg retrievals
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Pearl Mini IVF
- CareShare - IVF Refund Program (RMA San Diego’s “IVF Refund Guarantee”)
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 6 egg retrievals
Price not posted
- The ARC Success Refund Program
Unused prepaid cycles refunded after a live birth; covers up to 3 egg retrievals
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsReproductive Sciences Medical Center
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring and anesthesia
On top: storage ($800 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsReproductive Sciences Medical Center
- $5,000for up to 15 embryos, then $250 per extra embryo
PGT-A (PGS)
Base fee from RSMC's fee guide on its site for international patients
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsReproductive Sciences Medical Center
- $800a year
Egg storage
A flat yearly fee, in its own San Diego lab
- Egg freezing cycle, about $18,000
Includes the first year of storage
Medications included; then about $800 a year
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsReproductive Sciences Medical Center
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Pearl Mini IVF
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center is in San Diego, CA and Pearl Mini IVF is in San Diego, CA, about 4 miles apart. Both are in the San Diego metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center
3661 Valley Centre Dr, Suite 100, San Diego, CA 92130
- Phone
- (858) 436-7186
- Medical director
- Minh N. Ho, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Pearl Mini IVF
4510 Executive Dr, Suite 150, San Diego, CA 92121
- Phone
- (858) 614-6161
- Medical director
- Anne C. Davis, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another San Diego clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Reproductive Sciences Medical Center or Pearl Mini IVF?
For patients 38 to 40, Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported a live-birth rate of 23.1% per intended egg retrieval and Pearl Mini IVF reported 10.0% (CDC data for 2022). Reproductive Sciences Medical Center reported the higher rate in both age bands the two clinics report. Pearl Mini IVF reported 56 cycles, a small base, so its rates can move a lot from one year to the next. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Reproductive Sciences Medical Center compared with Pearl Mini IVF?
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center's website posts $30,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Pearl Mini IVF posts no IVF price on its website (read Sep 22, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF offer IVF refund programs?
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Pearl Mini IVF offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 65.4% at Reproductive Sciences Medical Center had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data; the CDC published no such figure for Pearl Mini IVF at that age.
How do Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Reproductive Sciences Medical Center's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 48.7% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Pearl Mini IVF (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Reproductive Sciences Medical Center or Pearl Mini IVF?
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center is the larger clinic: it reported 142 cycles to the CDC and Pearl Mini IVF reported 56, about 2.5 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF?
Reproductive Sciences Medical Center is in San Diego, CA and Pearl Mini IVF is in San Diego, CA, about 4 miles apart. Both are in the San Diego metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Reproductive Sciences Medical Center and Pearl Mini IVF?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.