Head to head · San Francisco area

Spring Fertility-East Bay vs UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

Two fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 7 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.

Updated monthly · checked 6 d ago
4age bands compared
7treatments with a posted price

Spring Fertility-East Bay (Oakland, CA) and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health (San Francisco, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 7 miles apart. For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health reported 37.8% (CDC data for 2022). UCSF Center for Reproductive Health posts an IVF price of $14,000 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.

Outcomes

Success rates at every age

Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.

Under 35
54.2%Higher
35–37
40.3%Higher
38–40
26.0%Higher
Over 40
22.9%Higher
IVF cycles with own eggs (all ages)

For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health reported 37.8% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-East Bay reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report.

These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.

A new patient's chance of a baby

For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.

Patient age
Spring Fertility-East Bay
UCSF Center for Reproductive Health
Under 35
61.9%54.1%
35–37
51.1%49.7%
38–40
35.1%43.0%
Over 40
34.4%17.8%

Donor eggs and donated embryos

Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).

Embryos
Spring Fertility-East Bay
UCSF Center for Reproductive Health
Frozen embryos from donor eggs
–42.5%
Fresh embryos from frozen donor eggs (egg bank)
–48.0%
Cost

What each clinic posts on its website

Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.

Spring Fertility-East Bay

No IVF price we could confirm on its website.

Open its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

  • IVF, low end of a range up to $20,000

    Billed on top: medications ($4,000 - $6,000), anesthesia ($816) and PGT genetic testing ($2,000)

    Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, a frozen embryo transfer, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

    A cash-pay estimate that already includes the 50% cash-pay discount the page describes.

Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page

Refund programs and multi-cycle packages

How IVF refund programs work

Spring Fertility-East Bay

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-East Bay

  • Pay-in-full price

    Includes monitoring and anesthesia

    On top: medications and storage ($950 a year)

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page

Frozen embryo transfer

What a frozen transfer costs

Spring Fertility-East Bay

  • Frozen embryo transfer

    Includes the transfer

    Medications and anesthesia not included

    The clinic's estimate

    Its California cash-pay estimate

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

  • Frozen embryo transfer cycle

    The clinic's estimate

    Medications about $1,000 to $1,500 more

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

PGT (embryo genetic testing)

What PGT costs

Spring Fertility-East Bay

  • Embryo freezing with genetic testing

    The clinic's estimate

    California cash-pay price

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

  • PGT

    The clinic's estimate

    From UCSF's IVF cost table

Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page

Spring Fertility-East Bay

  • IUI cycle

    On top: medications ($100 to $500), for $2,898 to $4,334 in all

    Spring Fertility's California price

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

  • IUI with minimal stimulation

    On top: medications (about $500), for $2,400 to $3,000 in all

  • IUI with controlled ovarian stimulation

    On top: medications ($500 to $3,000), for $4,300 to $7,500 in all

Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page

Embryo and egg storage

What storage costs

Spring Fertility-East Bay

  • $950a year

    Embryo storage

    Its California price, paid in full

  • $950a year

    Egg storage

    Its California price, paid in full

  • $950a year

    Sperm storage

    Its California price, paid in full

Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

No posted price we could confirm.

Open its page

Spring Fertility-East Bay

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).

Open its page

If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.

Services

What each clinic offers

From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.

Service
Spring Fertility-East Bay
UCSF Center for Reproductive Health
Donor egg services
OfferedOffered
Egg freezing
OfferedOffered
Embryo freezing
OfferedOffered
Donated embryo services
Not offeredOffered
Gestational carrier (surrogacy)
OfferedOffered
SART member
Yes
Yes
Lab accreditation
Verified
Verified
Location

Where they are, and what insurance must cover

Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health is in San Francisco, CA, about 7 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.

Spring Fertility-East Bay

80 Grand Ave, 3rd Floor, Oakland, CA 94612

Phone
(415) 964-5618
Medical director
Thomas E. Fisher, DO
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

499 Illinois St, 6th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94158

Phone
(415) 353-3040
Medical director
Marcelle I. Cedars, MD
CDC status
Open
Open its full record

Insurance law

  • California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer

The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.

Swap a clinic

Compare with another San Francisco clinic

Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.

Compare Spring Fertility-East Bay with
Compare UCSF Center for Reproductive Health with
Questions

Common questions about Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health

Which has the higher IVF success rate, Spring Fertility-East Bay or UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health reported 37.8% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-East Bay reported the higher rate in all 4 age bands the two clinics report. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.

How much does IVF cost at Spring Fertility-East Bay compared with UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health's website posts $14,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Spring Fertility-East Bay has no posted IVF price we could confirm. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.

Do Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health offer IVF refund programs?

Spring Fertility-East Bay offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health offers multi-cycle packages, with no refund if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.

What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 61.9% at Spring Fertility-East Bay and 54.1% at UCSF Center for Reproductive Health had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.

How do Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health compare for donor egg IVF?

Of UCSF Center for Reproductive Health's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 42.5% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Spring Fertility-East Bay (too few transfers for one, or none).

Which is the larger clinic, Spring Fertility-East Bay or UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

UCSF Center for Reproductive Health is the larger clinic: it reported 1,429 cycles to the CDC and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 235, about 6.1 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.

How far apart are Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health is in San Francisco, CA, about 7 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area.

Does insurance cover IVF at Spring Fertility-East Bay and UCSF Center for Reproductive Health?

Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.

IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a medical provider, clinic, or laboratory. Nothing here is medical advice, a diagnosis, or a recommendation to start, stop, or change any treatment. Success rates depend heavily on individual circumstances and are not a promise of any outcome. Data is aggregated from public sources and can be incomplete or out of date. Always confirm with a licensed clinician and the clinic's own current figures.