Spring Fertility-East Bay vs Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Two fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 9 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Spring Fertility-East Bay (Oakland, CA) and Spring Fertility-San Francisco (San Francisco, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 9 miles apart. For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-San Francisco reported 52.4% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-San Francisco posts an IVF price of $18,875 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-San Francisco reported 52.4% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-East Bay reported the higher rate for patients under 35 and over 40, and Spring Fertility-San Francisco for patients 35 to 37 and 38 to 40.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
IVF w/Conventional Insemination, the clinic's estimate
Includes anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture and an embryo transfer
Billed on top: medications ($3,000-$5,000), ICSI, a frozen embryo transfer ($6,079-$7,505) and PGT genetic testing
Not stated on its page: monitoring, the egg retrieval, embryo freezing, embryo storage, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workSpring Fertility-East Bay
- Spring Promise
The egg freezing fee back if the frozen eggs bring no pregnancy; enrollment up to age 38; medications extra
Price not posted
- WIN Fertility Premiere (WINFertility)
A multi-cycle package with no refund
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
- Spring Promise
The egg freezing fee back if the frozen eggs bring no pregnancy; enrollment up to age 38; medications extra
Price not posted
- WIN Fertility Premiere (WINFertility)
A multi-cycle package with no refund
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
Pay-in-full price
Includes monitoring and anesthesia
On top: medications and storage ($950 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Pay-in-full price
Includes monitoring and anesthesia
On top: medications and storage ($950 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes the transfer
Medications and anesthesia not included
The clinic's estimate
Its California cash-pay estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes the transfer
Medications and anesthesia not included
The clinic's estimate
Its California cash-pay estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
Embryo freezing with genetic testing
The clinic's estimate
California cash-pay price
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Embryo freezing with genetic testing
The clinic's estimate
California cash-pay price
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
- $2,798 to $3,834a cycle
IUI cycle
On top: medications ($100 to $500), for $2,898 to $4,334 in all
Spring Fertility's California price
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
- $2,798 to $3,834a cycle
IUI cycle
On top: medications ($100 to $500), for $2,898 to $4,334 in all
Spring Fertility's California price
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
- $950a year
Embryo storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Egg storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Sperm storage
Its California price, paid in full
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
- $950a year
Embryo storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Egg storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Sperm storage
Its California price, paid in full
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA and Spring Fertility-San Francisco is in San Francisco, CA, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Spring Fertility-East Bay
80 Grand Ave, 3rd Floor, Oakland, CA 94612
- Phone
- (415) 964-5618
- Medical director
- Thomas E. Fisher, DO
- CDC status
- Open
Spring Fertility-San Francisco
1 Daniel Burnham Ct, Suite 110C, San Francisco, CA 94109
- Phone
- (415) 964-5618
- Medical director
- Monica C. Pasternak, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another San Francisco clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Spring Fertility-East Bay or Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
For patients under 35, Spring Fertility-East Bay reported a live-birth rate of 54.2% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-San Francisco reported 52.4% (CDC data for 2022). Spring Fertility-East Bay reported the higher rate for patients under 35 and over 40, and Spring Fertility-San Francisco for patients 35 to 37 and 38 to 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Spring Fertility-East Bay compared with Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
Spring Fertility-San Francisco's website posts $18,875 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Spring Fertility-East Bay has no posted IVF price we could confirm. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco offer IVF refund programs?
Spring Fertility-East Bay offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Spring Fertility-San Francisco offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 61.9% at Spring Fertility-East Bay and 69.2% at Spring Fertility-San Francisco had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
How do Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Spring Fertility-San Francisco's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 40.9% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Spring Fertility-East Bay (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Spring Fertility-East Bay or Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
Spring Fertility-San Francisco is the larger clinic: it reported 1,374 cycles to the CDC and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 235, about 5.8 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA and Spring Fertility-San Francisco is in San Francisco, CA, about 9 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Spring Fertility-East Bay and Spring Fertility-San Francisco?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.