Pacific Fertility Center vs Spring Fertility-East Bay
Two fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 8 miles apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Pacific Fertility Center (San Francisco, CA) and Spring Fertility-East Bay (Oakland, CA) are fertility clinics in the San Francisco area, about 8 miles apart. For patients under 35, Pacific Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 39.6% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 54.2% (CDC data for 2022). Pacific Fertility Center posts an IVF price of $18,000 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Pacific Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 39.6% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 54.2% (CDC data for 2022). Pacific Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40, and Spring Fertility-East Bay for patients under 35, 35 to 37 and over 40.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Pacific Fertility Center
IVF without PGT, starting price
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, embryo freezing and embryo storage (1 year)
Billed on top: medications, ICSI, a frozen embryo transfer ($5,950), PGT genetic testing and assisted hatching
Not stated on its page: an embryo transfer and pre-cycle testing
Read Oct 13, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workPacific Fertility Center
- BUNDL Guard
100% of the program fee back if no live birth; covers up to 3 egg retrievals; medications included
Price not posted
- BUNDL 1+1
Unused prepaid cycles refunded after a live birth; covers up to 1 egg retrieval
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
- Spring Promise
The egg freezing fee back if the frozen eggs bring no pregnancy; enrollment up to age 38; medications extra
Price not posted
- WIN Fertility Premiere (WINFertility)
A multi-cycle package with no refund
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsSpring Fertility-East Bay
Pay-in-full price
Includes monitoring and anesthesia
On top: medications and storage ($950 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsPacific Fertility Center
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes monitoring, ultrasounds, the thaw and the transfer
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
Frozen embryo transfer
Includes the transfer
Medications and anesthesia not included
The clinic's estimate
Its California cash-pay estimate
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
PGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsPacific Fertility Center
IVF with PGT
Includes embryo biopsy, freezing and a year of storage; medications not included
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
Embryo freezing with genetic testing
The clinic's estimate
California cash-pay price
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Pacific Fertility Center
- $2,950a cycle
IUI procedure
Includes ultrasounds, sperm wash and insemination
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
- $2,798 to $3,834a cycle
IUI cycle
On top: medications ($100 to $500), for $2,898 to $4,334 in all
Spring Fertility's California price
Read Oct 8, 2026. Full terms on its page
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsPacific Fertility Center
- IVF (without PGT), from $18,000
Includes the first year of storage
Medications not included
- Egg freezing, $9,750
Includes the first year of storage
Medications not included
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Spring Fertility-East Bay
- $950a year
Embryo storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Egg storage
Its California price, paid in full
- $950a year
Sperm storage
Its California price, paid in full
Read Oct 10, 2026. Full terms on its page
Reciprocal IVF
What reciprocal IVF costsPacific Fertility Center
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
Spring Fertility-East Bay
Describes reciprocal IVF as one of its services, without a price (read Oct 11, 2026).
If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Pacific Fertility Center is in San Francisco, CA and Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA, about 8 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Pacific Fertility Center
55 Francisco St, Suite 500, San Francisco, CA 94133
- Phone
- (415) 834-3000
- Medical director
- Isabelle Ryan, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Spring Fertility-East Bay
80 Grand Ave, 3rd Floor, Oakland, CA 94612
- Phone
- (415) 964-5618
- Medical director
- Thomas E. Fisher, DO
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- California: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. California's full answer
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another San Francisco clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Pacific Fertility Center or Spring Fertility-East Bay?
For patients under 35, Pacific Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 39.6% per intended egg retrieval and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 54.2% (CDC data for 2022). Pacific Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients 38 to 40, and Spring Fertility-East Bay for patients under 35, 35 to 37 and over 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Pacific Fertility Center compared with Spring Fertility-East Bay?
Pacific Fertility Center's website posts $18,000 for IVF (read Oct 13, 2026). Spring Fertility-East Bay has no posted IVF price we could confirm. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay offer IVF refund programs?
Pacific Fertility Center offers a program that returns money if treatment fails, and Spring Fertility-East Bay offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 51.9% at Pacific Fertility Center and 61.9% at Spring Fertility-East Bay had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
How do Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Pacific Fertility Center's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 41.3% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Spring Fertility-East Bay (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Pacific Fertility Center or Spring Fertility-East Bay?
Pacific Fertility Center is the larger clinic: it reported 487 cycles to the CDC and Spring Fertility-East Bay reported 235, about 2.1 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay?
Pacific Fertility Center is in San Francisco, CA and Spring Fertility-East Bay is in Oakland, CA, about 8 miles apart. Both are in the San Francisco metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Pacific Fertility Center and Spring Fertility-East Bay?
Yes, for many plans: California requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Under SB 729, large-group fully-insured plans (more than 100 employees) must cover infertility diagnosis and treatment, including up to three completed egg retrievals with unlimited embryo transfers. Small-group plans only have to offer infertility coverage, and the state employees' plan (CalPERS) follows from July 1, 2027. Fertility preservation: Fertility preservation is a covered basic health service when a covered treatment may cause infertility (all plans except Medi-Cal and self-insured plans). State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.