Columbia University Fertility Center vs Extend Fertility
Two fertility clinics in the New York City area, less than a mile apart. Their CDC live-birth rates at every patient age, what each posts for IVF and other treatments, refund programs and services, side by side and cited.
Columbia University Fertility Center (New York, NY) and Extend Fertility (New York, NY) are fertility clinics in the New York City area, less than a mile apart. For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Extend Fertility reported 47.6% (CDC data for 2022). Columbia University Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website. Extend Fertility posts an IVF price of $14,500 on its website. A higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them, and posted prices cover different services, so read the terms below.
Want Columbia University Fertility Center's current price? We email you how to get it in writing, and pass your request on where the clinic takes requests on its website.
Want Extend Fertility's current price? We email you how to get it in writing, and pass your request on where the clinic takes requests on its website.
Success rates at every age
Each clinic's CDC live-birth rate per intended egg retrieval, for patients using their own eggs, in each age band (2022 data). Read the row for your age. A dash means the CDC reported no rate for that clinic at that age.
For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Extend Fertility reported 47.6% (CDC data for 2022). Columbia University Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients under 35, 35 to 37 and 38 to 40, and Extend Fertility for patients over 40.
These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them. The CDC's own guidance says "comparisons between clinics should be made with caution", because clinics "have different patient populations or ART treatment methods". See how to read IVF success rates.
A new patient's chance of a baby
For patients new to IVF (no earlier ART cycles) using their own eggs: the share who had a baby after all their egg retrievals, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval. It adds up every transfer, so it runs higher than the per-retrieval rates above.
Donor eggs and donated embryos
Live births per embryo transfer with donor eggs or donated embryos in 2022. The CDC does not split these by age. A dash means it published no percentage (too few transfers for one, or none).
What each clinic posts on its website
Each amount is the clinic's own posted figure, linked to the page it was read on, with what it covers. The two clinics' amounts rarely cover the same services, so we never call one cheaper from posted prices: read the terms, then ask both for an itemized quote.
Columbia University Fertility Center
Posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026). Its price comes from a quote, usually after a consultation.
Extend Fertility
IVF
Includes monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, ICSI and embryo freezing
Billed on top: medications ($3,000 - 5,000), embryo storage ($800), a frozen embryo transfer ($4,900), PGT genetic testing ($300 per embryo) and pre-cycle testing ($650)
Not stated on its page: fertilization and embryo culture, an embryo transfer and assisted hatching
Read Oct 31, 2026. Full terms on its page
Refund programs and multi-cycle packages
How IVF refund programs workColumbia University Fertility Center
Offers no IVF refund program or multi-cycle package on its website (read Oct 6, 2026).
Extend Fertility
- Baby or Your Money Back (Future Family)
A refund if no pregnancy (amount not posted); covers up to 2 egg retrievals
Price not posted
Read Oct 6, 2026. Full terms on its page
Egg freezing
What egg freezing costsColumbia University Fertility Center
One egg freezing cycle
On top: anesthesia
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Extend Fertility
One egg freezing cycle
Includes monitoring and anesthesia
On top: medications and storage ($800 a year)
Read Oct 4, 2026. Full terms on its page
Frozen embryo transfer
What a frozen transfer costsPGT (embryo genetic testing)
What PGT costsExtend Fertility
- $300per embryo
Biopsy for PGS/PGD
For 1 to 20 embryos
- About $225per embryo
Genetics lab fee
Read Oct 9, 2026. Full terms on its page
Columbia University Fertility Center
Posts no IUI price on its website (read Oct 8, 2026).
Embryo and egg storage
What storage costsIf you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request. Two itemized estimates are the only like-for-like price comparison. To see what your own plan would cost, use the IVF cost calculator.
If insurance does not cover it
- 6 IVF grants that publish their terms: free money, on a calendar.
- HSA and FSA dollars: IVF is a qualified medical expense, so it can be paid pre-tax.
- 5 multi-cycle refund programs, if more than one cycle looks likely.
- 8 fertility lenders and financing plans with published rates from about 3.99%, last and on purpose.
What each clinic offers
From each clinic's own report to the CDC ART Services and Profile dataset. A field marked not reported was left blank in the CDC data.
Where they are, and what insurance must cover
Columbia University Fertility Center is in New York, NY and Extend Fertility is in New York, NY, less than a mile apart. Both are in the New York City metro area. Contact details come from the CDC and may have changed.
Columbia University Fertility Center
5 Columbus Cir, PH Floor, New York, NY 10019
- Phone
- (646) 756-8282
- Medical director
- Eric J. Forman, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Extend Fertility
200 W. 57th St, Suite 1101, New York, NY 10019
- Phone
- (212) 810-2828
- Medical director
- Joshua U. Klein, MD
- CDC status
- Open
Insurance law
- New York: Must cover IVFYes, for many plans: New York requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. New York's full answer
What the big insurers' own documents say about IVF in New York: UnitedHealthcare, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Aetna, Cigna.
Regional insurers in New York: what the EmblemHealth policy says about IVF; what the Oxford Health Plans policy says about IVF; what the MVP Health Care policy says about IVF; what the CDPHP policy says about IVF; what the Independent Health policy says about IVF.
Blue Cross Blue Shield in New York: what the Anthem policy says about IVF; what the Highmark policy says about IVF; what the Excellus policy says about IVF.
The law that applies follows your health plan, not the clinic you choose, and it does not reach self-funded employer plans. See what your insurer or employer covers.
Compare with another New York City clinic
Keep one of the two and pick any other clinic of the area that reports enough to compare.
Common questions about Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility
Which has the higher IVF success rate, Columbia University Fertility Center or Extend Fertility?
For patients under 35, Columbia University Fertility Center reported a live-birth rate of 49.2% per intended egg retrieval and Extend Fertility reported 47.6% (CDC data for 2022). Columbia University Fertility Center reported the higher rate for patients under 35, 35 to 37 and 38 to 40, and Extend Fertility for patients over 40. These are averages for each clinic's own patients, who differ in age, diagnosis and treatment history, so a higher rate can reflect who a clinic treats as much as how well it treats them.
How much does IVF cost at Columbia University Fertility Center compared with Extend Fertility?
Extend Fertility's website posts $14,500 for IVF (read Oct 31, 2026). Columbia University Fertility Center posts no IVF price on its website (read Oct 1, 2026), so its price comes from a quote. A posted price is a starting point: medications, monitoring, anesthesia, embryo freezing and a frozen transfer are often billed separately. If you are paying without insurance, ask each clinic for a Good Faith Estimate: an itemized list of expected charges it must give you within 3 business days of your request.
Do Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility offer IVF refund programs?
Columbia University Fertility Center offers no refund program or multi-cycle package on its website, and Extend Fertility offers a program that returns money if treatment fails (each clinic's own website, read on Oct 6, 2026). Before you sign up for any program, ask for the written contract: what counts as success, how much comes back, and which medications and procedures are excluded.
What are a new patient's chances of a baby at Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility?
For patients under 35 who were new to IVF, 65.9% at Columbia University Fertility Center and 65.5% at Extend Fertility had a baby after all their egg retrievals in the CDC's 2022 data, counting embryo transfers within a year of each retrieval.
How do Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility compare for donor egg IVF?
Of Columbia University Fertility Center's transfers of frozen embryos made from donor eggs in 2022, 43.5% led to a live birth; the CDC published no donor egg percentage for Extend Fertility (too few transfers for one, or none).
Which is the larger clinic, Columbia University Fertility Center or Extend Fertility?
Columbia University Fertility Center is the larger clinic: it reported 1,571 cycles to the CDC and Extend Fertility reported 340, about 4.6 times as many. Cycle volume shows how busy a clinic is, not how good it is.
How far apart are Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility?
Columbia University Fertility Center is in New York, NY and Extend Fertility is in New York, NY, less than a mile apart. Both are in the New York City metro area.
Does insurance cover IVF at Columbia University Fertility Center and Extend Fertility?
Yes, for many plans: New York requires some fully-insured health plans to cover IVF. Large-group plans (100 or more employees) must cover up to three IVF cycles, and group policies must cover infertility diagnosis. Individual and small-group plans do not have to cover IVF. Fertility preservation: All commercial plans must cover fertility preservation when a medical treatment may cause infertility. State insurance laws reach only fully-insured plans, and 67% of covered US workers are in self-funded employer plans, which set their own fertility benefits whatever the state requires. About 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF.