Costs

What fertility care actually costs

IVF, egg freezing, and at-home testing, with the real published figure and the source behind it. Most clinics do not post a standard price, so we show what they do publish and where the gaps are.

Updated weekly · checked 3 wk ago
$25k–32ktypical all-in cycle
$40k–60krealistic total, 2+ cycles
142locations with price references
452clinic locations checked

A single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000 once medications and the common add-ons are added to the clinic's base fee (itemized below). Because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, the realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000, not the base price on the brochure.

We found clinic-published IVF price references for 142 of the 452 US clinic locations checked. Locations may share a network's pricing source; this is a count of locations, not independent offers. Read the terms and source beside each amount. Estimate your own all-in cost or read the full breakdown of what IVF costs.

Not everyone starts with IVF. Many couples first try IUI (intrauterine insemination), which costs a fraction of an IVF cycle but succeeds less often per cycle.

At-home fertility tests run from $9.99 (25 strips). Most clinics do not publish a standard price, so ask each one for a written cost estimate for your plan.

The real number

What one all-in IVF cycle is made of

Every line is a cited national range, in the order a cycle incurs it. The base fee is the only piece a clinic's advertised price usually captures. The rest is what a normal course of IVF looks like, not optional extras.

  • Base IVF cycle feebase

    Monitoring, egg retrieval, lab fertilization, and one fresh transfer: the clinic's headline quote.

    Typical$13,500
    Range$12,000–$15,000
  • Stimulation medicationsnear-universal

    The injectable hormones that grow multiple eggs, dosed to your body over the cycle.

    Typical$5,000
    Range$3,000–$7,000
  • Anesthesia or sedationnear-universal

    Sedation for the egg retrieval procedure.

    Typical$400
    Range$300–$500
  • ICSI (sperm injection)

    An embryologist injects a single sperm directly into each egg, rather than letting fertilization happen in a dish.

    Typical$1,750
    Range$1,000–$2,500
  • PGT-A genetic testing

    Screening embryos for chromosomal abnormalities before transfer (biopsy plus genetic lab analysis).

    Typical$4,500
    Range$3,000–$6,000
  • Embryo freezing plus first-year storagenear-universal

    Cryopreserving surplus embryos and one year of storage.

    Typical$1,500
    Range$1,000–$2,000
  • Frozen embryo transfer (later cycle)near-universal

    The later cycle that thaws and transfers a frozen embryo to actually attempt pregnancy.

    Typical$5,000
    Range$3,000–$6,900
Full modern cycle, all in$31,650 typical

Not every cycle includes every line (ICSI and PGT-A are common but genuinely debated), so the honest single-cycle range is about $25,000 to $32,000. Toggle the pieces of your own plan to see your number, next to your odds by age.

Coverage

What decides how much of it you actually carry

The figures above are gross, before any coverage. Two things you may not control, your state and your employer, move the out-of-pocket number more than any discount code.

Your state

14 states plus DC require fully-insured plans to cover IVF. Where a strong mandate applies, per-cycle out-of-pocket can fall to $2,000–$7,000. Mandates reach fully-insured plans only, not the self-insured (ERISA) plans most large employers use, so confirm your plan type.

Your employer

50% of employers with 500+ workers now cover IVF (up from 27% in 2020), but the median lifetime cap is about $20,000: roughly one all-in cycle, against an average need of two or more.

Financing

HSA and FSA pay with pre-tax dollars, and grants reduce the principal (RESOLVE program list). Shared-risk refund plans charge $20,000–$30,000 for up to 6 cycles, with a partial refund if there is no baby.

For the full picture, whether insurance covers IVF details every mandate state, the self-insured loophole, and how to check your own plan. If coverage leaves a gap, how to pay for IVF sets out the four routes families actually use (grants, pre-tax dollars, refund programs, lenders) with each program's published terms. The full cost guide walks through the state-and-employer lottery, the self-insured trap, and how to sequence financing.

Medication

What the fertility drugs actually cost

The injectable stimulation medications are the volatile part of an IVF bill and the part that matters for a cycle budget. Below the headline is the raw per-unit acquisition cost of the individual drugs, for context.

What each medication does →

Stimulation medications for one IVF cycle typically run $3,000–$7,000 per cycle, about a fifth of the total. The injectable FSH is dosed to how your body responds, so this is the one line no clinic can quote precisely in advance, and the same drug can cost several times more at one pharmacy than another: compare the cash prices pharmacies post, and what a standard cycle's drugs cost after TrumpRx.

For context, what US pharmacies pay to acquire each drug (CMS NADAC), per syringe or vial where CMS prices by the mL. Gonal-f and Follistim are filled by specialty pharmacies, which the CMS survey does not cover, so they have no figure here.

NADAC is the national average price pharmacies pay to acquire a drug, not the retail or cash price you are charged, and not what a clinic bills for a medicated cycle. Letrozole and clomiphene are FDA-approved for other uses and are prescribed off-label for fertility, so their FDA label reflects that primary use. This is information, not medical advice.
At-home testing

What at-home fertility testing costs

Hormone panels, ovulation monitors, and sperm-analysis kits you can order at home, cheapest first. A useful first look, not a full clinical workup.

Each price is the clinic's or brand's own published figure, linked to the page that states it.

Compare the tests themselves, and what each one measures, on the at-home tests page.

FAQ

Common questions about IVF cost

How much does IVF cost in 2026?

A single all-in IVF cycle typically runs $25,000 to $32,000 once medications and the common add-ons are added to the clinic's base fee. Because the average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, a realistic amount to budget is $40,000 to $60,000, not the base price on the brochure.

Why is the advertised IVF price lower than the final bill?

A clinic's advertised "base" cycle price usually excludes medications (frequently several thousand dollars), anesthesia, genetic testing (PGT), and storage. Those pieces are a normal part of a cycle, not optional extras, so the all-in cost is typically well above the posted base fee.

How many clinic locations have published IVF price references?

We found clinic-published IVF price references for 142 of the 452 US clinic locations checked. Locations may share a network's pricing source; this is a count of locations, not independent offers. Read the terms and source beside each amount.

Do published IVF prices cover the same services?

Published IVF amounts cover different services. Some are retrieval-only fees, some include a transfer or medications, and others are the lower end of a range. Eligibility, payment method and location can also change the price. Compare the recorded terms, then request an itemized quote for the same treatment plan from each clinic.

Are there all-inclusive IVF packages?

Of the 141 US clinic locations whose posted IVF price we checked (read on Oct 13, 2026; locations of one network can share a price), 3 include medications (North Carolina Center for Reproductive Medicine, The Talbert Fertility Institute; Reproductive Sciences Medical Center; and Tennessee Reproductive Medicine); 92 list them as billed on top and 46 do not say. Monitoring is included in 65 of them, anesthesia in 38, ICSI in 24, embryo freezing in 40 and PGT genetic testing in 2; the others bill these on top or do not say. Aurora Health Care-Aurora Fertility Services, The Women's Center at Aurora BayCare Medical Center; Aurora Health Care-Aurora Fertility Services, West Allis; and California Center for Reproductive Health, Reproductive Fertility Center call their packages all-inclusive, in their own words. Even a price that includes medications can leave out ICSI, genetic testing or a later frozen transfer, so check each line before you compare two clinics.

How much do IVF medications cost per cycle?

Stimulation medications for one IVF cycle typically run $3,000 to $7,000, about a fifth of the total. The injectable gonadotropins are biologics dosed to how your body responds, so this is the one line no clinic can quote precisely in advance.

Does insurance cover IVF?

14 states plus DC require fully-insured plans to cover IVF, and where a strong mandate applies, per-cycle out-of-pocket can fall to $2,000 to $7,000. Mandates reach fully-insured plans only, not the self-insured (ERISA) plans most large employers use. Separately, about 50% of employers with 500 or more workers now cover IVF, though the median lifetime cap is around $20,000, roughly one all-in cycle.

How many IVF cycles does it usually take?

The average patient needs 2.3 to 2.7 cycles, so planning around a single cycle understates the real cost. Success is cumulative across cycles, which is why the amount to budget for is the multi-cycle total, not one cycle.

How much does at-home fertility testing cost?

At-home fertility tests run from $9.99 (25 strips). Hormone panels, ovulation monitors, and sperm-analysis kits you can order at home are a useful first look, not a full clinical workup.

Published prices

Pinnacle Fertility: published prices and terms

Published IVF amounts cover different services. Some are retrieval-only fees, some include a transfer or medications, and others are the lower end of a range. Eligibility, payment method and location can also change the price. Compare the recorded terms, then request an itemized quote for the same treatment plan from each clinic.

Showing source records associated with this network. Location and package terms vary. View all clinic price references

Each listed amount belongs to a specific program or estimate. Source-check dates record when we retrieved the page, not when a clinic issued its fees. Older schedules can remain online, and network pricing may not apply to every location. Confirm current terms with the clinic.

IVF and egg-freezing pricing is often opaque: many clinics quote only after a consult, and a "cycle" price can exclude medications (frequently several thousand dollars), anesthesia, genetic testing (PGT), and storage. The published references below have different inclusions and dates. None is a personalized quote.

Clinic-published price references (2 locations)

Grouped by state, clinics A to Z within each. Read each amount together with its terms, including any range, eligibility limits, source date and location restrictions. These different packages do not support a like-for-like median or a cheapest-clinic ranking. For every clinic that posts an IVF cycle under $9,000 and what each of those prices leaves out, see low-cost IVF clinics, compared by what they include. Egg freezing prices are checked separately: every clinic that posts an egg freezing price, by state.

The whole check, every CDC-reporting location including those that post no price, is free to download and reuse as open data (CSV, with a citable DOI). About one in three US fertility clinic websites posts a self-pay IVF price, up from about one in five in 2019. Read the report or the findings, explained.

Washington 2 locations

Compare Washington clinics
  • Amount in source

    $16,680

    IVF Treatment

    Includes: monitoring, the egg retrieval, fertilization and embryo culture, embryo freezing and embryo storage

    Not stated: medications, anesthesia, ICSI, an embryo transfer, a frozen embryo transfer, PGT genetic testing, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

    The Washington price on Pinnacle Fertility's multi-state price page.

  • SRM Spokane

    Spokane Valley, WA

    Amount in source

    $11,000

    IVF Freeze All

    Includes: not listed on the page

    Billed on top: a frozen embryo transfer ($4,250) and PGT genetic testing

    Not stated: medications, monitoring, the egg retrieval, anesthesia, fertilization and embryo culture, ICSI, an embryo transfer, embryo freezing, embryo storage, pre-cycle testing and assisted hatching

    A special-offer price; the page gives the prior cost as $15,795.

Find clinics with published prices by location
IVFcost.co is an informational data platform, not a clinic, laboratory, or medical provider. Prices shown are the cited source's figures on the date noted and can change, and none is an offer to sell. Confirm the current, all-in cost directly with the clinic or brand and your insurer.